Finger Sandwich Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
MMMmmMMM, tastes sooo good...reminds me a of the gingerbread shaped, chocolate filled butter cookies from the bakery. *Just a quick tip: if you want the texture of the Italian butter cookies from the bakery that are chocolate dipped with sprinkles on one side, substitute half the all-purpose flour, with cake flour, and bake 2-3 minutes longer. It adds that iconic crumbly texture, and is absolutely to-die-for- when you sandwich with your favorite jelly/preserves in between. My Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These were the right taste and texture. They are just like italian bakery butter cookies. I sandwiched mine either chocolate or raspberry jam. Dipped the ends in chocolate and colored sprinkles. I could not stop eating them. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Thanks for this recipe. I've been looking for a wonderful recipe like this one for a long time. It does taste just like the N.Y. bakery cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
These cookies are delicious and easy to make. They taste just like Italian bakery cookies and look pretty too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JerzPixelPusher
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
These were better than the bakery cookies... I made them with 1 and 1/4 cups of whole wheat flour and 2 and 1/2 cups white flour and left out the food coloring... I couldn't get them to work well with the cookie press (may have been the warm day) but I rolled them into finger shapes and popped them in the fridge so they were cool before baking... spread raspberry jam in between two and dipped them in melted chocolate and sprinkles: SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JerzPixelPusher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe, I have used it to make cookie platters for customers and what I love most is that you can make infinite kinds of cookies using only this recipe,Thanks sooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
These were just like you get in the bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Thanks TJ! This recipe is extremely versatile and produces exquisitely light cookies. I used 1/2 soy/1/2 rice flour and egg replacer without the food coloring. I used the pastry bag with 1/2 the batter and the rest I rolled into a column, refrigerated, and sliced before cooking. The cookies remained light with a slight crisp after completely dipping 1/2 the batch in white chocolate and making maple creme sandwiches with the rest. This recipe is a keeper in any recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Very good cookie - they have become a staple in my Christmas cookie collection. I do not add the red food coloring. I use a pastry bag with extra large star tip to pipe them and then put rasberry perserves in between two, dip one end of the sandwich in chocolate and colored sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
TJ, These are the BEST, thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States