Finger Sandwich Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The family loved it. I used 1 tsp. almond extract and 1.5 tsp. vanilla extract as suggested by another member. I didn't use the food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Haven't tried these yet but Not sure how to get 1 1/2 eggs. Adjust the recipe to 18 for 1 egg or double for 3 eggs. I might try the 1 whole egg plus one yolk like someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
They came out fantastic!! My mother love's these cookies she said they taste just like the one's you buy in an Italian bakery. I did use have all purpose flour and half cake flour they came out nice and light not dense at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent recipe - I'll be using this from now on. Great taste and texture. I omitted the food coloring - they look beautiful with a few sprinkles or chocolate dipped. Anyone else wondering what 1 1/2 eggs are? I used two yolks and one egg white which worked very well. Is this correct? I bake often but haven't previously seen a recipe calling for part of an egg :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Just tried this recipe to have for super bowl! Will never use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
am i the only person out there who doesn't know how to measure out one and a half eggs?? i know i could double the recipe to make 3, but i don't think my mixing bowl would hold double the amount of flour, etc. any help? i'd love to try these cookies! (only rated this coz it is required to "rate"in order to enter a comment!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shira369
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Absolutely delicious...even better than bakery quality! These disappeared in minutes. I didnt have a pastry bag so i dropped dough by tablespoons and spread out into 2" bars and baked 7-8 minutes until edges were lightly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syosset, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a very versatile cookie. It would do well as a cutout cookie as well. I paired mine with strawberry jam for the middle and melted chocolate and drizzled it over the top of the cookie. They are not to sweet and have enough flavor to stand on their own even if you don't want to add a jam or preserve to it. Make sure to work with the dough when cold when it gets warm it becomes to soft to work with. Love and recommend this cookie to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is the closest I've ever gotten to the cookies I got in the bakery when I was a kid! I also skip the food coloring. The other change I made was to use only 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla and added 1 teaspoon of almond extract. I also use raspberry or apricot all fruit to sandwich them and dip the ends in really good dark chocolate! That made them taste more like the cookies I remember. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
If I could give it more stars, I would! These cookies are absolutely delicious. Not super sweet. I didn't sandwich them. I made some with raspberry jelly in the center, others dipped in chocolate and some with only sprinkles! You have got to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States