Finger Lickin' Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This didnt last long. Next time a double batch. I 2x the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I made this for a group event. I diced the onions. Also added a little cumin for a smokey flavor in the back ground. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
DH LOOOOOVES caramelized onions so I had to try this. Soooo good! He doesn`t like basil so much so I left that out and it needed more than a pinch of brown sugar. I put in about a teaspoon. Very yummy with a veggie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
this recipe was delicious and so easy to make! instead of sour cream i used plain, nonfat greek yogart. i did this behind my yogart-hating husbands back, b/c had he known, he'd never had eaten it! but we ate it with some wheat crisps (trader joe's version of wheat thin) and it was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dip was delicious- tangy, sweet, savory, and perfect for a party. I made a double batch, but did not use quite 5 cups of sour cream as the double batch called for- I only used about 4, since I felt that any more would have made it too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is really good! I am having a "chip and dip" bar at my wedding, and I wanted an onion dip that was fancier than what you usually see. This fit the bill perfectly! I made it to take to a wine party and it was well received! My friends were dipping EVERYTHING in this, including sausage! I didn't have basil so I omitted it. I diced the onions because I figured people wouldn't want big pieces of onions when dipping and it was the perfect consistency. I tried the onions after caramelizing them, and they were fabulous! You could use just the onions to top steaks or veggies or whatever you wanted to put onions on/add onions to! The goat cheese gave a good, creamy consistency but since I will be making this for a lot of people, I think I am going to sub cream cheese for the goat cheese and use a mixer to briefly blend the sour cream and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
LOVE this dip!!! I let it sit over night in the fridge and the flavor is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUSHSUCKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Really yummy! I left out the goat cheese, but wish I hadn't as it needed the salt. I subbed 1c of the sour cream with greek yogurt. Also, diced the onion instead of slicing and added cumin. So much better than store bought or out of the packet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I reduced the sour cream to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup plain yogurt and then combined all ingredients in a food processor to get a smooth creamy, sweet, and savory bowl of goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I've made this recipe in my own variation about 3 times and everybody loves it! it's so addicting and I can't even stop eating it. I'm actually going to make it this Thanksgiving for boyfriend's family to try too. I omit tarragon and goat cheese because ingredients weren't available but the taste is still absolutely extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Loaded Baked Potato Dip

See how to make a creamy, bacony dip shaped like a football.

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States