Final Exam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I can't believe only 19 people have rated these so far. This recipe will soon be one of those with 2000+ five star reviews. SUCH good brownies. I make them all the time and everyone is always in awe. This recipe came from the Best of Country Cookies cookbook and it was one of 9 or so recipes (out of thousands) that won grand prizes in the national Taste of Home contest. Try them. You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemmasmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
These turned out really good. I was nervous while they were baking because the marshmallows looked like they were exploding but it was fine. I definitely overcooked them so I had to cut off the edges but they tasted delicious. Next time I will take them out sooner, but that was my misjudgement, it was a little hard to tell when they were done. Overall, great and different than your average brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Photo by NikkiQ
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Gooey and delicious. Just be careful not to overbake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Man, these are so good! I mean, really, really good. The marshmallows almost fully disappear while baking, but leave the brownies moist and almost gooey. They are bursting with chocolate flavor and bits of chocolate pieces in every bite. I think I would have gained a few pounds in college if I had eaten these with every final exam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Decent brownies. Extremely sweet even though I cut down on the sugar, there was no depth of flavor, just super sweet chocolate loaded with stuff. I was disapointed in these, they were just very average. With so many incredible brownie recipes out there these are not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
These were quite good. I made as is. Texture is in between cakey and fudgy, which I liked. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I had some mini marshmallows to use up and this was the answer. I had no baking chocolate so I used powered cocoa and butter but you would never know it. They didn't bake up with the grainy texture other eceipes do. The marshmallows did burn a bit on top so next time I will check for doneness at 30 minutes. Nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I'm not a big brownie person, but these were AWESOME. I loved that the mini marshmallows created a crunchy gooeyness around the edges and in the top. SOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Spickard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pender, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These are excellent brownies! I was looking for something different from my standard and happened across these. Had both walnuts and marshmallows hanging around so gave these a go. So good! A couple of things: I found these exceptionally difficult to mix (I used a wooden spooon - never beat brownies!) and doneness was difficult to judge based on appearance b/c of the bubbling marshmallows. For our tastes, they were perfect at 30 minutes. They won't replace my go to recipe, but I'd make these again. Oh, one more thing: if you or your children have any kind of dental appliance I'd advise staying away from these! They seriously gummed up my daughter's space maintainer :-) Oh well, live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
So, so good! These brownies are chocolately, nutty and fudgy. The ultimate treat. This a recipe I will hold on to forever. I made the recipe exactly as it is written and it came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States