Finadeni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I thought the lemon juice flavor on this, was way too dominant. I had some store bought chicken and cilantro dumplings, that I was looking for something to dip them in. This popped up at the right time. I ended up adding a little more soy sauce and about 1/2 tsp each of minced garlic and sesame oil to cut through the lemon flavor. I think, the recipe would have been fine if I just would have used rice wine vinegar. I am not sure, but will try that next time. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a good sauce. Needs less soy and more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
The only thing I did different is use 1 Lemon and 1 Lime. The strange little Lemon in Guam tastes a mixture of lemon & Lime, yet the citrus is green on the outside and orange inside. Wish we could get them in the US. The Wild Boonie peppers used in Guam, are pretty close to a Thai pepper. But it you try using a different kind of pepper. It "must" be fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is a great sauce. A neighbor showed us how to make this initially and we use white onions instead of green. LOVE it, especially with grilled elk or venison. After awhile we started tweaking it to our tastes, but these measurements are probably a good place to start. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I'm not Guam but I grew up having both soy sauce and lemon as a common condiment. I usually mix it in my rice depending on the dish such as fried fish, grilled steak or thinly dry-fried pork. Though, I've never had it with green onions...thought it was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
There are so many variations of Finadene, this is a good one. I use fresh red Thai peppers and chopped white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
My mom is from guam but she uses vinegar instead of lemon plus she adds boonie peppers, green onions and sweet onions. My boys eat it with rice and makes a good dip for your meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Lived in Guam 13 years and this is a good recipe. I personally prefer vinegar to lemon juice but either choice makes for a good Finadeni. I add diced regular onions to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was recommended to me by a woman who's husband was stationed in Guam years ago. I needed to make it for a party that I was attending and used it with Kalua Pig from this site and steamed rice. It was delicious. I made it exactly as written. We did have some party goers that I was not familiar with their taste buds so was unsure if the spice/heat was going to be too much or not enough. For this crowd it was perfect. Next time I make it for us, I will increase the pepper flakes as I like spice. Otherwise, just wonderful. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is such a nice sauce which I served with homemade egg rolls a few weeks ago. Using low sodium soy sauce is definitely a benefit. Thanks Cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

All about Quinoa

See all you can do with this centuries-old super grain.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States