Filled Date Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
I made this cookie for a bridal shower ...it was a hit ! the cookie is soft and moist with a very tasty filling...the dough spreads during baking, so be sure to use a scant amount for both top and bottom cookies...enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
sorry, i thought awful. maybe i did it wrong. wasn't expecting a cake like cookie and because of little filling couldn't tast filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
The recipe is a little time consuming and messy to work with, but the results were well worth the effort. My hubby gives them an A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cjjoyce
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
My mom made these every year. I like this version better than hers. She would stuff the date with a walnut and dip in the dough and bake. I like the filling idea better. These are a wonderful variation of comfort cookies from my childhood. They will have a place in my Christmas cookie baskets this year. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I was so glad to be able to find this recipe. I have had this cookie every year since I was a small child. My grandmother has made them every year. Since she is 91 this year, she won't be making cookies. I had the recipe in an old cookbook, but we had house fire last month and I haven't been able to lay my hands on the recipe. This will make my family so happy to be able to have these cookies this year despite the turmoil that the fire has caused in our lives. They are time consuming, but so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I very enjoyable filled cookie. I will definately make theese again. They are a bit time consuming but it's worth it. Plenty of filling and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raisedbywolves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My mother made these for as long as I can remember. They have always been a favorite of my son. Mama is gone now so I have continued making them for him every Christmas. They are a little labor intensive but well worth the effort. Flavor is better after a day or two. Freeze great. I do use a 1 Tbsp. scoop for the cookie dough and a tsp. of filling with a tsp. of dough on top. Also, only bake for 8 minutes but my oven cooks hot. Bake until pale golden on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I used fig and almonds substituted for the date and walnuts and upon my first taste I realized that they will quickly become my favorite cookie. It literally brought tears to my husbands eyes reminding him of the cookies his grandma made for him every year at Christmas when she was still with us. We definitely felt her with us in spirit tonight. Light and fluffy cookie, beautiful shiny filling had the perfect amount of sweetness when married with the baked cookie. These will become a Christmas tradition from this year on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Duluth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Very good, just like my memory of the ones I made years ago. I lowered the oven temprature to 375. I had received fresh Arizona dates, can make more after Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Seale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States