Filled Apricot Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I was skeptical at first. But these were very easy and tasted great. I used seedless black raspberry jam and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VEGGIEEATER
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These are great cookies. Just like mom used to make. The outside is light and flaky, and if rolled in the powdered sugar they are slightly sweet. I loved the apricot filling. Make sure the dough is cold or else it will turn gooey in your hand. If it turns gooey just put the dough back in the frig for a half hour. They take time to make but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I thought these were great! After reading the reviews, the changes I made were butter instead of margarine and I added 1/2 cup of sugar - it would have been too bland otherwise. Also, the turnover method, although messy and not as pretty looking is better tasting, but having a circular cookie and indent it to fill various jam flavors is a great and easier method, apricot is still the best choice. This is a time consuming recipe though - at least while watching young kids at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you J. Wagner for this AWESOME recipe! I don't know why others had so much difficulty or dislikes in the "taste" of this cookie. I follow the directions as is and w/no addition of sugar to the dough...and they are the BEST I have tasted to date. This cookie makes it to my Christmas Cookie Bake- Off every year without fail. I mail my homemade cookies to my sisters who are out of state; and this is one cookie they always request. The only suggestion I would add is that you really need to make sure the dough is totally chilled before you start to roll the dough in your hands, otherwise the butter in the the dough just melts away in your hands. And that should do the trick! Once again, I couldn't tell you what a delicious and tasty cookie this recipe makes. Wish I could give it 10 stars...Thank you J. Wagner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy A.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This recipe was excellent! I did add 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to the dough. The flavor and texture were great! I used Smucker's apricot preserves, very tasty. Everyone who tried them said they were awesome! I will definitely be making these often, thank you for another great recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe makes perfect kolachky's. The dough can be tricky to work with, so be sure to keep it well chilled during the assembly process. Try to not over-mix or over-roll it. This will help to maintain the flakey, fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Excellent cookies. I actually signed up for an account just to review these. A lot of people have hit the nail on the head by saying that they need to be lightly rolled in flour before being pressed. I used some lemon zest in my apricot preserves, and I think that really added some POP to the cookie. We experimented with orange preserves with dark chocolate melts on top, but were disappointed with the results. Thanks for the recipe! We'll use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I used strawberry preserves instead of apricot, but the cookies were very good. I thought it was a little dry at first, and I had to sprinkle regular granulated sugar on them for lack of the right ingredients. My family wasn't real impressed, but I liked them and will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Whelan Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
the other reviewers are right... if you use just the 3 ingredients for the dough it will definitely be lacking. add 1 cup of powdered sugar and it will come out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I am giving this recipe 4 stars, because these tasted great, but I had to add a cup of powdered sugar like another reviewer suggested. As long as you do that they will taste AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States