Filipino Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
First of all I'm Filipino & my hubby is half-Filipino, half-Thai. I made this last night using all beef, chunky sauce with mushrooms & peppers, and Vienna sausages (I was already at Albertsons & didn't want to drive to Seafood City). We went back for seconds. When my toddler gets older, I'll try this with the hot & spicy banana ketchup and/or sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Yes. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robynreine
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
My husband is Filipino and really likes this spaghetti. Made a few changes to make it a bit more authentic, like a previous reviewer said. I used tomato sauce instead of spaghetti sauce (the spices in pre-made spaghetti sauce are definitely not Filipino). American hot dogs are indeed too salty for this recipe. If I don't have the red Filipino hot dogs from the Asian market, my husband also likes uncured hot dogs since they have less salt. I left out the water, but it still came out a bit runny, so next time I think I'll use some tomato paste along with the tomato sauce like previous reviewers suggested. All in all, a good recipe that will be made again with stated modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
pretty good but forget about the water and add 2.5 oz tomato paste to thicken the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
You know, I think it's really just a cultural thing as far as people not liking it. I grew up eating this at Filipino parties and I make it this way myself. The only thing I change is omitting the 1/2 cup of water and adding a can of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Good but not great. You should try jschrier8's filipino spaghetti! it's the best I've tasted and reminds me of Jolibee. Amazing! Go check it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
modified a few things to taste, but awesome base recipe! finally no longer need to go to jollibee to get my fix of sweet home cooked spaghetti! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I'm a Filipino woman and I grew up in the Philippines. This recipe was never made by my family so my curiosity got to me one time and went to Jolibee, a Filipino fast food restaurant. I have to give this a thumb down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe needed a little improvement. For authenticity purposes you must get the red asian style hot dogs from an international market. If unavailable, use Nathans all beef hot dogs or Hebrew national all beef hot dogs. Regular American hot dogs will ruin the flavor of this dish as they are much too salty. (The all beef american hot dogs listed above are a great substitution-not only are they much less salty but they have the red color reminicent of the asian hot dogs.)Also,don't use spaghetti sauce. Use two bottles of Jufran Banana ketchup and 8-10 ounces tomato sauce. Omit the sugar. Only add the water if sauce needs thinning out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIRKUS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My first husband was Filipino, and this was a staple in his family. I ended up loving MOST Filipino food, but this wasn't one of my favorites. It's all right, not super great. For authenticity, buy the pink hot dogs they sell at the Asian market (same place you have to go to find banana ketchup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States