Filipino Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This recipe was great. Sweet, but not artificial tasting. Unfortunately, the recipe omits what kind of liquid to "bring to a boil". Pretty sure it's not the 4T of soy sauce. I just used a couple cups of water and it was fine. I also wished they described the consistency of the honey sauce to know when it is done. I tried to reduce it some and let it simmer only about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
The glaze flavor is excellent, my favorite part of the recipe! I didn't think the recipe was time consuming (you do have to plan ahead) and it certainly was not labor intensive. Recently, I have started using my slow cooker, instead of a stock pot, to cook the ribs before the final baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
These were great!! Time consuming but not difficult; I cooked them for my boyfriend and me, and used three lbs. of ribs instead of six. But I didn't cut any of the other ingredients in half, so the ribs could still have liquid to simmer in, and lots of sauce. Next time I will just decrease the star anise. These would be great to take to a party, cut into smaller slabs. A nice change from regular bbq ribs! Thanks Christine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I give this 4 stars as written, but it definitely is 5 stars with my revisions! First thing, I boiled the ribs w/ an extra 1/2c water and I added about 1/4c of that liquid from boiling the ribs and added it to the sauce; it gave it good extra flavor. Also, definitely double the sauce! The sauce has wonderful flavor and if you made it as written, it's not enough to cover the ribs fully. Secondly, I used fennel instead of the star anise because that's what I had and it does make for a good substitute. Thirdly, I used only 1/4c honey and I think if I used the full 1/2c it would have come out way too sweet. The ribs itself also came out very tender and juicy! I think I will always cook my ribs this way regardless of what sauce I use on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
We loved these! Such a great alternative to just regular BBQ sauce! The star anise adds the perfect flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2000
This is the absolute best ribs I have ever made or tasted and I've had ribs in many different ways I feel this tops them all and my friends just went crazy over them they want me to make them every time they are invited to dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
Awesome flavor...I didn't have star anise...but used tarragon instead. Turned out great. My kids didn't care for it so much...more for us! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I love this recipe, it reminded me of Polynisian ribs. I put a little dry sherry and some of the fresh ginger in the soy sauce while it was braising. Family loved the honey lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
These are delectable and fall right off the bone! The hint of anise adds an unexpectedly delicious flavor to these ribs. I made these for my Filipino husband and his brother and am waiting to see if they recognize any flavors; either way, they'll be a hit. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLu
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
These were delicious- fall-off-the-bone tender and full of flavor. I was afraid the flavor of the anise pods would be overpowering, (my whole house smelled of the spice after the boiling step), but the sauce works well with the anise flavor. I doubled the amount of sauce and added more as they cooked in the oven. I found that the sauce that dripped from the ribs burned very quickly on the bottom of the baking dish and couldn't be used to spoon over as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States