Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
My Filipina co-worker and her mother in law taught me how to make this, and it has become a party favorite. The easiness level depends on your deftness with the wrappers, but don't let it sway you away from trying this. They omit the beef and green pepper, and add celery and water chestnuts for crunchiness. To help the filling stick together, they add oyster sauce, which really gives it a great flavor. It is served with a spicy sweet and sour sauce that I am trying to get the recipe for, but your favorite from the store will due. I have never heard of or seen the banana ketchup, but I will be asking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I haven't tried the recipe yet, but I will. It sounds very similar to the one my friend makes for me. We do however, have banana katsup at the Asian supermarket here. Lumpia is best with banana katsup(in my humble opinion). I would suggest asking for it at your local Asian supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I love these and they are my boyfriends favorite food! His mother taught me how to make them and her recipe is similar except she leaves out the green pepper and adds about 1/2 tbsp each of granulated garlic and ground black pepper to the meat mixture. I'm not sure if lumpia wrappers are the same as egg roll wrappers but the egg roll wrappers are what we use. We use only a little more then 1 tbsp of the meat mixture on each wrapper. I find the thinner you make the layer of meat, the better it tastes. As soon as they come out of the frying pan we sprinkle them with salt on both sides. They taste sooooo good that you don't even need any dipping sauce. These are great served with chicken adobo, pancit, and Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
YUMMMMMMMMMMM is all I can say!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
These are lumpia's are very good, but in my family we call them Shanghai lumpia. Regular lumpia to me are a little easier to make. In my family we used ground beef and cook it before rolling it. While the beef is cooking add your seasonings depending on what you like, we add garlic powder, salt, and pepper. When the meat is cooked add frozen mixed vegetables (or fresh veggies what ever you prefer)and whatever else you'd like. Just cook long enough to let the water and oil on the bottom cook away. We add teriyaki sauce for more flavor and then let cool. If you try to roll right away the wrappers will break. Once you've rolled the lumpia you can either freeze them for another day or cook 'em in oil until golden brown. Remember the meat inside is already cooked so all you have to do is brown them. Also with the wrapper, a lot of people have said they've had a hard time with wrappers breaking, my suggestion is to use the square lumpia wrappers because they tend to be a little thicker than the round once. You also don't have to wait until the wrapper is completely defrosted, as long as you can work with it you can start rolling right away. I also use a beaten egg to try to keep the seam closed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Heavenly!!!! These were the best I've ever tasted. I used egg roll wrappers as I had a hard time finding lumpia wrappers. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I love filipino food! lumpia is one of my faves, this is a classic!its so simple to make and so tasty. we like to use a little white vinegar and soy sauce mixed together as a dip. great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was delicious. Very time consuming to make though. Make sure to follow their directions in making them no bigger around then your thumb (unless you have monster thumbs then you'll want them smaller), otherwise they burn before they are completely cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is amazing!! My whole family loves this. But I just get a bag of cole slaw instead of cutting myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My boyfriend is Filipino and decided to try his hand at lumpia. He followed this recipe for the most part...he used shrimp and pulled chicken to the vegetable mix and we got lumpia wrappers from the grocery store. The lumpia was awesome and I all ready have requests from friends for him to make more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States