Filipino Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
These are lumpia's are very good, but in my family we call them Shanghai lumpia. Regular lumpia to me are a little easier to make. In my family we used ground beef and cook it before rolling it. While the beef is cooking add your seasonings depending on what you like, we add garlic powder, salt, and pepper. When the meat is cooked add frozen mixed vegetables (or fresh veggies what ever you prefer)and whatever else you'd like. Just cook long enough to let the water and oil on the bottom cook away. We add teriyaki sauce for more flavor and then let cool. If you try to roll right away the wrappers will break. Once you've rolled the lumpia you can either freeze them for another day or cook 'em in oil until golden brown. Remember the meat inside is already cooked so all you have to do is brown them. Also with the wrapper, a lot of people have said they've had a hard time with wrappers breaking, my suggestion is to use the square lumpia wrappers because they tend to be a little thicker than the round once. You also don't have to wait until the wrapper is completely defrosted, as long as you can work with it you can start rolling right away. I also use a beaten egg to try to keep the seam closed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Very good, but not the way I remember them. I could have done without the carrots, maybe less bell pepper too. May I suggest frying them in a shallow layer of oil instead of fully immersing them, to keep the inside ingredients from getting overly oily. I found banana ketchup labeled "banana sauce" in a Philipino grocery store. For those who have not tasted it, it's basically a sweet & sour & hot (or mild) mix of banana and cayenne pepper. It looks just like ketchup but it has no actual ketchup in it. It tastes better than you would think on lumpias. My son and I liked it so much we tried it on everything else we could think of, just to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
My Filipina co-worker and her mother in law taught me how to make this, and it has become a party favorite. The easiness level depends on your deftness with the wrappers, but don't let it sway you away from trying this. They omit the beef and green pepper, and add celery and water chestnuts for crunchiness. To help the filling stick together, they add oyster sauce, which really gives it a great flavor. It is served with a spicy sweet and sour sauce that I am trying to get the recipe for, but your favorite from the store will due. I have never heard of or seen the banana ketchup, but I will be asking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
In my family, we use chopped green onions instead of regular onion. It also helps to mix the meat with an egg or two (1 egg per pound of meat), and then seal all the edges with egg as you fold it. We use the round lumpia wrappers, cut them in half, spoon a heaping teaspoon of meat mixture on top near the cut edge, and thin it out in a line about the length of your index finger. Then you you wet the cut edge with egg and fold it over the meat mixture. Wet the two sides with egg and alternately fold them over the meat mixture. Then wet the remaining edge with egg and roll towards it, sealing it smooth with your finger. Trust me, you now have a heavy-duty eggroll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stareynoso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This recipe was pretty good; however, I added some basic spices, such as salt, pepper, and garlic powder. The key is to keep the lumpia thin, about as big around as your finger. I also added a few more vegetables, such as green onions and water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I cooked my beef and pork before I added the veggies. I also added about 1 tbl. of soy and one egg to the meat and veggie mix. The square wrappers work the best. Make sure to seal them well with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Heavenly!!!! These were the best I've ever tasted. I used egg roll wrappers as I had a hard time finding lumpia wrappers. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
If you can't find lumpia wrappers, you can substitute with spring roll wrappers. They work well. Also, banana ketchup can be found at most asian markets. I also make lumpia with ground pork and chopped salad shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
YUMMMMMMMMMMM is all I can say!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I haven't tried the recipe yet, but I will. It sounds very similar to the one my friend makes for me. We do however, have banana katsup at the Asian supermarket here. Lumpia is best with banana katsup(in my humble opinion). I would suggest asking for it at your local Asian supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States