Filipino Beef Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This recipe was good, but strangely kind of bland. Personally, one of the things I'd like to try next time is to add a chili or two to it. I've also considered using orange instead of lemon juice and maybe adding a mango to the marinade as well. Thank you, Iola, for sharing it anyway! It will make a fine take-off point for further experimentation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA
Photo by carlenemarie1
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was just okay. Kind of discouraging because it was alot of prep work and dirty dishes. Not sure if i'll make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlenemarie1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Great flavour. I was looking for something different to do with these strips and found this recipe. My dish turned out not perfect, as I overdid the cornstarch, but was still delicious. I will try it again as my family loved it. Served with brown rice and steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This is really good but i used calamansi juice instead of lemon juice, slice the onions instead of chopping them and double the garlic. This is the true filipino way to make this delicious beef steak and of course serve over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XtianRN13
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Tastes just like the way my dad made it. It's one of those dishes I introduced to my partner, who's white and hasn't really been exposed to any Filipino foods. It has been given two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
For a first timer cook like me, I'd say this was pretty easy to prepare. Had all the ingredients in our kitchen. Glad I impressed my mom who came home tired from work. :) Thanks for this simple yet yummy recipe. Truly a Pinoy taste! :) -Ivy from California
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was incredibly easy to make and for such a simple dish it was surprisingly flavorful. Served with a salad on the side it made for a quick meal that satisfied both me and my husband. Just don't forget that it needs to marinate for at least an hour before cooking! I made the marinade and got the marinated meat into the fridge and chopped up my onions. Then when it was time to cook all I had to do was throw everything into the two skillets and dinner was ready in five minutes. As written you'll end up with too little marinade. I made it with just one pound of meat but forgot to scale back the onions. It was still really tasty, but I'll adjust the meat-to-onion ratio a bit better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Even though I didn't use the NY strips as in the recipe and used sirloin tip instead, it still turned out wonderful. Great recipe. Thanks for posting this, the family loved it. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
You need a lot more marinade than is called for considering it also calls for 4 lbs of meat but it is a great recipe. This also works really well with sliced up pork butt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Used much more soysauce and 2 lemons. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakermd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States