Filet with a Merlot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Didn't really care for this one. I found the sauce overpowered the meat and detracted from its 'natural' taste. I also added some fresh mushrooms while cooking which added a little diversity. I probably won't make this again, and would rather just drink a good Merlot with the filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Yummy sauce! It was a little salty but that's what I liked about it. Who wants a flavourless sauce? I made only 3 filet mignon so I made less sauce. I used 1 chicken and 1 beef oxo cube and let the cubes dissolve in 2 cups of boiling water. Then I added 1/2 cup of wine and let the mixture boil for almost 30 minutes on high heat. The only thing I didn't like is that I usually marinate my steak so that the flavor goes through to the center and the meat becomes more tender. These were ok but I had to dip them in a lot of gravy and they weren't as tender as the steaks I usually have. Also the recipe directions will give you a rare steak so if you don't like it rare, cook a couple of minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This was absolutely delicious. I made it for Valentine's Day and look forward to making it for friends. I don't eat mushrooms, but divided the sauce and added sauteed mushrooms for my husband -he raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Too salty. Too expensive. Too time-consuming. Tasted like brown gravy with a little wine flavor. It wasn't horrible, but I wouldn't waste the time or money making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This has to be one of the most delicious Merlot recipes I have ever made. My whole family loved it. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Terrible - way to salty. Ruined the whole thing. The broth is to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I was most anxious to try this recipe considering we love red wine and filets. And considering the top billing it received in the newsletter today from Allrecipes, I couldn't wait for that first bite. Major disappointment. Maybe it will be better tomorrow but for all the time, preparation and cost, I am betting that I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I loved this recipe! My boyfriend and I have now made it about 3 times in 2 months and still enjoy it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
My husband and I made this for Christmas Eve and it was so incredibly wonderful. Thank you for making a special evening even more special. Every last morsel of mignon was gone! We are making it again for family this weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
The sauce was very pretty but I practically got drunk off of it-it was so winey! I mean wine city!! I felt like I wasted my beautiful filets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States