Filet with a Merlot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Ver good sause. My wife loved it and we discussed using it on pork or some other cuts of steak because I like my tenderloin right off the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was delicious! The sauce takes some time to come together, so next time I may make this the night before, but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This recipe was exquisite! I made this recipe for a dinner party and everyone loved it. My filets were super thick, so I browned them and finished them off in the oven to medium rare. The sauce just went so well with the steak. I served this with garlic mashed gold potatoes and baby green salad with Chantal's cheesecake for dessert. I reduced the wine and prepared the butter mixture the day before. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
it tasted pretty good but not worth the time, money and energy that goes into making this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
WOW!!! This recipe was excellent. I've made it twice so far, the first time for Valentin's Day for my husband and the second this evening as a farewell dinner for my brother. Everyone was speechless!!! It definitely was 5 star restaurant quality. I served it with thyme roasted potatoes and green beans almondine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danda22151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I'm still a newish cook, and this recipe entailed several firsts for me: the first time I've cooked with either filet mignon or shallots, and the first time I've ever reduced a sauce. With those caveats, I found the results to be a little disappointing, flavor-wise. But I had very high expectations, so this just resulted in this being "pretty good" in my book. The filets with the shallots and garlic were very tasty, but I found my wine sauce to be fairly bland. Step 1 wasn't too clear (to this beginner) about what heat (low, medium, high, boil) to reduce the sauce on. I had it too low, then cranked it up, and it still took me 1.5 hours to get 3 cups of sauce. And I don't think the 2-3 minutes in step 3 was enough to thicken the sauce, either. I may try this recipe again, though - it has a lot of potential, but I've got to get the hang of making sauces like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
WOW!! This sauce was amazing and sooo tasty. I made this sauce for a special Valentine's dinner for my husband and he was very impressed. Although, I did reduce the sauce a little too long (most of it evaporated because I had the heat on too high). It didn't take as long to reduce the wine/broth mixture as the recipe indicated. Also, I eliminated the butter and flour mixture. I added the shallots, garlic and thyme right into the reduced wine sauce after about an hour. Then I poured the sauce mixture over the fillets in the medium heat skillet (note: I BBQ the fillets to about medium rare before I placed them in the skillet. This helped make sure they cooked in time for my dinner). After a few turns of the fillets in the warm saucy skillet, the sauce covered the fillets perfectly and everything was done and we ENJOYED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This recipe was excellent! I made it for a very fancy dinner party and the guests were all pleased. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Making this dish will make everyone in your house drool for the two hours it takes to make it. Of course 1.25 hours or so of the time is just reducing the wine and broth. This sauce is something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Great way to impress a date..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States