Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerriO9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I'm not sure whose review I followed, but, he was spot on. Rest and season the steaks as suggested, sear (all sides) and then follow through. Why add brown sugar? The reduction is already so sweet and who needs the extra calories? You do need buy a GOOD balsamic. I paid $16 for mine. Go good on the wine. Coppola Claret was my first go around. This review is from someone who was frightened to cook steak. I am now empowered. Thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
It is the best, third time to make everyone I make for loves it, only thing I do different is add teaspone of Brown Sugar, makes it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent! Made it on Valentine's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zcalob

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Seared our seasoned filets on a scortching hot cast iron skillet with a tablespoon of olive oil for just a few minutes until they developed a nice brown crust. While they were resting we just added the balsamic vinegar & cabernet to the skillet (we'd taken it off the heat) & the residual heat was enough to cause this to reduce to a nice, thick glaze. With the pan drippings incorporated this over the filets was absolute heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I prefer steaks grilled, so I followed other reviewers and made the sauce separate on the stovetop and used as a dipping sauce. I double the sauce, used Merlot for the wine and also added garlic the second time I made this as others suggested, then let it reduce on the stove about 10 or 15 minutes until it reached desired consistency. The sauce alone tasted strange at first and we thought it would be overpowering, but paired with the steak is FANTASTIC! My boyfriend loved it and next time we will make more and try freezing in ice cube trays for easy reheating. This is too simple to be that good! We will have this every time we cook steak from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Really good. Make this almost everytime we have Filets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I can only rate the glaze, because I cooked the steak the way I always do (after letting it come to room temp, I sprinkled with salt and pepper and broiled in the oven). The glaze was really good but not as great as most of the reveiwers thought. I love the balsamic/red wine combo so I think I was hoping for better. 4 out of 5 stars is pretty good though, which the glaze was- pretty good and something I might make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very tasty, will definitely be cooking this again. I did double the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I'm more of a vegetable person, but my boyfriend made this for Valentine's Day and it was amazing!! He added some garlic to the pan and cooked a bit longer than recommended and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by X3LOLA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States