Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Excellent! I did make some changes. I had a rib-eye, cut it two, let it come to room temperature, and seasoned with salt and pepper. Sliced mushrooms and shallots, and sauteed them in olive oil on medium-high. Added the steaks, and seared on all sides. Removed the steaks, and covered with foil. Added to the pan the red wine and balsamic vinegar. Cooked with the mushrooms until somewhat reduced, then added in about 1 Tbsp brown sugar and 1 Tbsp butter. Reduced some more. Added the steaks back in, and cooked until they were about 135 degrees with the instant-read thermometer, medium rare. Plated steaks with mushroom sauce poured over ... really YUMMY!. Served with fresh french bread to soak up the sauce. I can't add a photo because we ate it up eagerly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
The combination of Balsamic and wine gave it a bitter taste. Next time I'll add beef broth instead of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
phenomenal!!! I have made this recipe several times and each time it's excellent!! you will not go wrong making filet mignons and don't worry about ruining your steaks ever with this recipe.... this makes the filet medium rare.. if you want it more cooked just cook it longer in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This recipe went right to the "family favorites" category!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICKIVANILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very Good. Definitely worth making. I added a few extra things to add more taste such as coffee spice and maple balsamic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Buechler Messmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Great, I'll do it again. Rotten Ronnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I'm so happy that this came out ok. I'm not use to cooking. The only issue I had was that the glaze didn't look as thick as the one in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Hatten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I cooked it for a little less time than stated, as I always seem to overcook my meat, didn't want to ruin it for date night. This was a gourmet meal! Served it with Gorgonzola Gnocchi, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Just tried this recipe....wanted a no butter way to cook the filets. Had never cooked a filet before. Simple and delicious. It really showcased the meat. Just be careful cooking it so it doesn't get too well done, but we used thin filets (sliced in half). Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States