Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I can only rate the glaze, because I cooked the steak the way I always do (after letting it come to room temp, I sprinkled with salt and pepper and broiled in the oven). The glaze was really good but not as great as most of the reveiwers thought. I love the balsamic/red wine combo so I think I was hoping for better. 4 out of 5 stars is pretty good though, which the glaze was- pretty good and something I might make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very tasty, will definitely be cooking this again. I did double the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I'm more of a vegetable person, but my boyfriend made this for Valentine's Day and it was amazing!! He added some garlic to the pan and cooked a bit longer than recommended and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by X3LOLA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Quick and simple recipe with readily available ingredients but not particularly flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
My hubby and I loved our filet mignon steaks prepared this way. Delicious ! A little tweaking by me is needed for "sauce" to turn into glaze consistency since it was very thin. Nevertheless, the taste was great and I used the excess to pour over the veggies on my plate ! LOL Will prepare this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinah Paul Fox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebbronville, Texas, USA
Living In: Freer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was our Valentine dinner and it turned out really special. What made this a 5 star recipe was broiling the goat cheese on top. Like others suggested, I let the steak rest before and after cooking on the stove top. While steak was resting I made the glaze using Merlot, balsamic vinegar, garlic and about 1 T. of butter. Let it reduce to thick and syrupy and then drizzled over the steak. Thank you, Linda W. for an awesome recipe that I would be proud to serve on any special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Our filets were very thick so we put them on the grill for a bit before we started the recipe. We added fresh sliced mushrooms to the sauce and rather than pour on top, we put the sauce with the mushrooms into small individual ramekins for dipping. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Dahmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is so darn good. I made this for my hubby on Valentine's Day because I rarely cook red meat, so I did it for a treat and now I promise to make it for every special occasion. I doubled the recipe as previously suggested and I used Cabarnet Sauvignon for the dry red wine as suggested by the wine dude at my local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is a really great, basic recipe however the key is to let the steaks sit, rest, and become room temp. before cooking. I cooked two 8 ounce steaks (4 ounces would have been way too small for dinner) on a cast iron skillet. One min. on each side first, then 4 four mins on each side for medium rare...it was perfect. I added brown sugar and butter to the sauce however the sauce was too thin as I would have preferred it to be a bit more syrupy. Also, I plan to reduce the balsamic vinegar in half next time I make this sauce. I thought it over powered the steaks just a bit. Paired the steaks with roasted red potatoes and sauteed green beans and mushrooms and it was a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was simply AMAZING!! I made this for Valentine's Day dinner and you would have thought I walked on water - LOL. This sauce, already made with wonderful filet mignons, was just fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 783) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States