Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Made on the grill. Doubled the sauce. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This recipe is perfect just the way it is. And yes, I took complete credit for it when everyone went nuts! Sorry Linda, couldn't help it, I'll deal with the karma on another recipe!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I was looking for a quick, easy filet recipe and decided to give this one a try, with a few changes. The ratio of wine to vinegar seemed way off and the technique suggested wasn't exactly what I was looking for. Here's what I did differently: 1) took the meat out of the 'fridge a little over an hour before cooking time 2) seasoned liberally w/ s&p right before putting into into the med-high skillet for 3 mins per side 3) removed the meat and let it rest 4) deglazed the skillet with 1/2 cup red wine (I had bottle of Valpolicella ripasso open, so I used that) until reduced to about half 5) added 1 T balsalmic, 1 clove garlic (chopped), and juices from the resting meat and simmered for 1-2 mins 6) added 1 T butter & added s&p to taste (mostly just p needed) 7) returned the meat to the skillet and basted it repeatedly for 1-2 minutes 8) plated filets and drizzled with sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Excellent recipe! Added broiled brussel sprouts and DH raved "best ever!!!" Doubled sauce to keep steaks tender (I have a tendency to overcook things). Next time I'll remove steaks and while they "rest" I'll sauteing onions and mushrooms in sauce. Extra "yum"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AtlantaSunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucker, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My husband made this for us for a romantic dinner. He followed the instructions to a T... best steak I ever had!!! I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
As others did, I let steaks (4 b/t 2-3" thick, about 4 oz, each) stand for 45 minutes, then salted/peppered and cooked the filets separately from the sauce. seared the steaks 2-3 minutes per side on a med high heat in a bit of olive oil, then covered the pan and cooked for more 4 minutes. transferred to cutting board and foil tented. while the steaks cooked, in a separate pan, started 1/2 cup balsamic and 1/2 cup wine (cab), simmered for 5 minutes, then transferred to the steak pan (had removed steaks to set on cutting board at this point) to capture the good juices, added 1 tbsp dark brown sugar and 2 minced cloves garlic and turned the heat up to med high, while stirring. My only regret, is that i plated the sauce in a ramekin. messy to clean, and the sauce was so good, i ended getting an icing spatula for all to scrape out and smear on the steak. simple and very good. cooking the sauce down with the garlic and brown sugar, while continually stirring was a key. paired with 2 bottles of quality chateau neuf du pape, and good friends. would do this every weekend if i could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We were going for different. It was quick, easy, and most of all... my boyfriend LOVED it! A very savory dish for so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is my 1st rating ever this low , unfortunately this recipe as written managed to ruin 2 nice fillets, had a very distinct vinegar flavor. To each their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ivywang
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made the filet mignon and glaze separately as recommended and the filet came out great. Left my filets rest for about 90 min and it kept it so tender. Salted and peppered to taste. Seared top, bottom, and sides to keep the juice in. For medium, cooked the top and bottom for 4 min each. For medium rare, 2-3 min. Made the glaze separately using all ingredients, and added garlic. Reduced for about 15 min, but it was still very thin... The sauce was good but not amazing. The filet was great on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States