Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Just enjoyed this for Valentine's Day dinner. I did place the meat in a zip-lock bag with olive oil, pepper & garlic for hours before cooking other wise followed the receipe. We liked it very much! This time of year, using the grill is difficult and with only two of us - using the stove top was qucik, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I followed suggestions already posted - 1/2 cup quality balsamic (I used pomegranate balsamic, it was delicious), 1/4 cup dry sherry, heaping tablespoon brown sugar, and 1 minced garlic clove. I cooked the sauce separately until it was syrupy. Let the filets rest at room temp for 45 mins or so (30-60 mins is good), then seasoned with sea salt and fresh ground black pepper on both sides. Cooked on med/high heat for 1 min on each side, then about 4 mins with the saute pan covered (for medium rare). Added about a tbsp of crumbled blue cheese and broiled for a minute or so. Then, drizzled the sauce on it. Had asparagus and mashed potatoes with it. Absolutely phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Love, love, love this glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very good recipe. Next time I'll reduce the sauce a little more, I prefer a thicker sauce. DH thought it was a bit too much balsamic though I liked the balsamic amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This glaze is amazing! Hubs asked me to please remember this recipe; a good sign!! I made the glaze and grilled the steaks. I did whisk in a little butter at the end. I will double the glaze next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This glaze has become my husband's favorite. I double the amount and reduce over the stove in a separate pan. I broil the filets wrapped with bacon for about 10 min each side. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is such a simple and delicious recipe. I adda tablespoon of butter when I cook the steak before the balsamic and wine is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Made this a couple of times and husband and I both love it for flavor, juiciness and simplicity. Tonite I substituted little loin lambchops for the beef filets. No changes to anything but on a whim I added a little dried rosemary to the pan when I added the balsamic vinegar and wine. Just as great as the original for lamb lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Soooo YUM! Had no brown sugar so added turbinado. While steak rested, added pat of butter & reduced sauce. A HUGE keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
super tasty & easy recipe. I followed the recipe exactly & it came out wonderfully. Great savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 783) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States