Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Made this for hubby's bday tonight. I don't eat red meat, but he said it was so good that I should give it 5 stars! I made the glaze separately, as suggested by others. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ParsonDave
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Tried this for a Valentine's Day dinner for my honey - DELICIOUS! I took IMVINTAGE's suggestion (and a few of my own) and it was seriously one of the best meals of our lives. I doubled the balsamic (and not the wine), added brown sugar and minced garlic, and reduced to syrupy consistency. Also topped with Garonzola cheese and broiled just before drizzling the glaze. The real key was in how I cooked the filets. First allowed the steaks to sit out for about a 1/2 hr to an hour before I salted and peppered them liberally.I then baked the 1 1/2 thick filets FIRST inthe oven @275 degrees until internal temp reached just under 130 degrees (on a broiler rack over a cookie sheet). I next pulled them out (and allowed them to rest for 10 minutes (while heating oven to broil, and skillet to sear). Next I seared the steaks in a skillet with a little canola oil, 1-2 min per side (I did both in the same pan at the same time). Then I topped with cheese and broiled for just a few minutes until the cheese began to melt. Cooking the steak this way resulted in a perfect (and I mean PERFECT) medium rare to medium steak, edge to edge. It was the best steak I've ever eaten and will be cooking this meal for friends as soon as I can just. To have them experience it! Thanks All Recipies community!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The meat turned out pink inside, which was good. However, did not like the sauce - it was very vinegar tasting. May substitute beef broth for the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This had the potential to be amazing, but was too vinegary. I'm not sure if cooking it longer would have helped. It also didn't thinking as others mentioned so I used a touch of flour which made the consistency better. I will try again, cooking the sauce for longer and if that doesn't work I will double the wine but not the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Made this for Valentine's dinner. My Valentine approved & loovvveeed!!! It was simple. I followed the directions with the only change adding garlic. It didn't over power the fantastic filets I picked up at all. Just a juicy filet with some flair cooked just right using red wine & balsamic vin. I served with a side of Rosemary potatoes, steamed asparagus & shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wheelchair Kitty
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Delicious, do this exactly as written, down to the glaze with the steak at the same time covered for 4' each side, and you'll be rewarded with med rare perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
So easy and so good. I make it all the time now EXACTLY how the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very strong vinegar taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This was horrible. In essence you are boiling the meat in vinegar! A balsamic reduction on a grilled steak- YES! What a waste of a perfect cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States