Filet Mignon with Mushroom-Cabernet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made several batches of this for a dinner party tonight, and it's wonderful. My methodology was a little different than the recipe: I seared the steaks on both sides, then finished in the oven to medium. When i removed the steaks from the pan, there was lots of yummy brown fond in the bottom of the pan, which I included in the sauce (if you prepare your steaks and sauce in separate cooking vessels, your sauce will suffer for lack of yummy brown bits!). I didn't cook the steaks in the sauce - used only 1/2 cup wine and 1/2 cup stock, let it reduce by half, then removed from heat and swirled in 2 tablespoons butter at the end to give the sauce a little extra rich feel; this also allowed me to omit the cornstarch and still have a nice, rich sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Fantastic meal. No leftovers. Used green onions instead of shallot. Rather than corn starch, made a roux with flour and butter and added the shiraz to that. Perfect mix of tender and crusty. We'd have happily paid a lot for this in a restaurant. Can't wait to try again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahjongg Jana
Photo by Val-Flowers
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was so yummy! and suprisingly easy too! the only change I made was I used 1 can beef broth instead of just 1/2 cup. It was also very pretty on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Flowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent! Except I did not cook the beef in the sauce. I pan seared them and cooked them in the oven. I used the sauce on top of the beef when I served them. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and a spring mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDSINTHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe! My husband and I cooked it together for Valentines Day. We used Pinot Noir for the wine and it turned out perfect. The steak was tender and juicy and full of flavor. Be sure to use thick enough cuts. I wouldn't change a thing when making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Hubs prepared the steaks on the grill (to perfection I might add) while I took care of the sauce. I have to admit my first impression was that I was kind of turned off by the sort of purply mushrooms and sauce. I used a good quality, rich beef stock and an even better Cabernet Sauvignon. Wow, this is really gonna be good, I thought. I added the cornstarch but found it really wasn't necessary; the sauce reduced nicely on its own. We sat down to eat and were surprised and disappointed to find the sauce...weak. I expected full-bodied flavor but it just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
AMAZING! I used about a cup of beef broth instead of a half to make the sauce brown and not purple. I also didn't have cornstarch so I mixed left over beef broth with flour and mixed with sauce. I served over garlic mashed potatoes and sliced the meat ontop of potatoes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was amazing. 1st time I try a recipe I always follow it 100%, then figure out where I want to deviate. This one needed no change whatsoever. I would've paid a lot in a restaurant for this and not complained 1 bit. The color of the sauce didn't look appetizing at first, but as soon as I tasted it I had no more concern. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My husband & I liked this a lot. I love the idea of a wine sauce with mushrooms. I didn't use the thyme or cornstarch. I used flour to thicken it up. Next time I will use less flour to make it more of a "sauce' than "gravy". Filet Mignon is to good of a meat to cover up with gravy. It was my husband's Valentines Day dinner and we were both pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I, too, made this for Valentine's Day 2010 for my lovey and it was fantastic! When Mark was done with his, he declared my portion that I could not eat "dessert steak" - Yes, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States