Filet Mignon with Mushroom-Cabernet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it is outstanding. The sauce is rich and very flavorful. I served this with lots of roasted French green beans and a little serving of roasted garlic mashed potatoes. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Muffinmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefychefy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was amazing. 1st time I try a recipe I always follow it 100%, then figure out where I want to deviate. This one needed no change whatsoever. I would've paid a lot in a restaurant for this and not complained 1 bit. The color of the sauce didn't look appetizing at first, but as soon as I tasted it I had no more concern. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Fantastic meal. No leftovers. Used green onions instead of shallot. Rather than corn starch, made a roux with flour and butter and added the shiraz to that. Perfect mix of tender and crusty. We'd have happily paid a lot for this in a restaurant. Can't wait to try again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahjongg Jana
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was very good! I didn't want to spend the money on filet mignon for my family of 5, so used top sirloin. I'm sure filet would have been even better and might try it again with filets someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenskitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is a really yummy recipe, but it's not the very best I've ever made, and needed a bit of extra kick on the spices. I will most likely make this again, though next time I think I will reduce the amount of oil to cook the steaks and cook down the sauce more. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent! Except I did not cook the beef in the sauce. I pan seared them and cooked them in the oven. I used the sauce on top of the beef when I served them. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and a spring mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDSINTHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I keep coming back to and love this recipe for it's consistency. I would hate to over cook this expensive meat, so I follow the cooking time for the meat exactly! I pretty much follow the recipe, except I let the sauce reduce much longer for more flavor (until very reduced because it looks like a lot of sauce) and then just add a small pat of butter. Thank you so much - we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishgirl
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this sauce for Valentines Day! Excellent! I grilled the Filets on the grill first then assembled the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe! My husband and I cooked it together for Valentines Day. We used Pinot Noir for the wine and it turned out perfect. The steak was tender and juicy and full of flavor. Be sure to use thick enough cuts. I wouldn't change a thing when making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I, too, made this for Valentine's Day 2010 for my lovey and it was fantastic! When Mark was done with his, he declared my portion that I could not eat "dessert steak" - Yes, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States