Filet Mignon with Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Prepared beef tenderloin for a crowd but followed the original 4 servings for this sauce because we never serve anything on filets other than the salt, pepper, and seasonings put on the meat before grilling. I was in the mood for something a little different and chose this, thinking I would be the only one interested in trying it. I was wrong and should have tripled this! Everyone that tried it wanted it and I had to promise there would be enough for everyone next time. I followed the recipe except I had used my shallots in another side dish and only had Vidalia in the pantry. This worked out perfect in our opinion and I wouldn't hesitate to make it the same again. This sauce is delicious and the bacon goes perfectly with the tenderloin. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was ALMOST a 5/5. It had really good flavor. The half and half was not enough, ended up adding a total of 1/2 C. Also ended up adding sour cream to thicken and add a little tartness. Ended up being restaurant quality. Pairs beautifully with the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This recipe has good instructions for preparing filet mignon, which was helpful as I couldn't remember exactly how to cook it. The sauce was okay, but rather bland and needed something more. Since it's made of basically bacon grease, butter and cream, you may be better off going for a more flavorful and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This is a great recipe. Add a 1/4 cup of white or red wine and a 1/2 cup of sliced mushrooms to the sauce, stir until you get your desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this dish for company last night and ended up using double the half and half. I also made my sauce first and kept it warm under a heat lamp so I could visit with my friends and when ready grilled the steaks on the stove top grill, which really required no concentration. Served this with asparagus and thick sliced beefsteak tomatoes drizzeled with basalmic and olive oil. A very fine meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was an excellent sauce that is quick and easy to prepare and is full of flavor. I substituted minced garlic for the shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatChief04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This sauce was outstanding! It perfectly complimented the beef tenderloin and my family loved it! I substituted chopped pancetta for the bacon to use up some leftover pancetta and added more half-and-half to make the sauce creamier. We also added a steak rub to the tenderloin before grilling it. We'll definitely be making this recipe part of our Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This recipe was fantastic! I used this recipe for the bacon cream sauce and it was phenomenal! Made the perfect Valentine's Day Dinner, paired my filets with lobster tails and viola. I didn't have shallots, used red onion instead, and added chopped garlic...Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I have to agree with Elizabeth32 - be sure to make your sauce first and keep it warm. I always let my meat "rest" before serving or slicing... but the way this recipe reads, the meat is resting for close on or over 15 minutes. Way too much for little tenderloins. A big roast, maybe, but not a small cut of meat. It will be cold, yech! I also think there is way too much fat in total. You can get the same flavour and creaminest without all the fat. You can even use 1% and just need to reduce the sauce. Or not use the fat from the bacon and use a heavier milk product... not need to use both... think of your arteries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this for Valentine's Day and enjoyed it. I thought the butter and the bacon fat was just too much grease, so I drained the fat. I kept it in reserve in case I needed the flavor, but never used it. One day I may make this without draining the fat just to see how it compares. When I tasted the sauce before serving it, I wasn't sure about it. The tastes didn't seem to go together, but once I tried it with the steak, I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States