Figs with Goat Cheese, Pecans and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Excellent. We used Trader Joe's frozen figs and skipped the pecans. Really good flavors. We served as a main with roasted vegetables as a Monday night supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very disappointing! My bacon got burned, though maybe I should have pre-cooked it longer like 3-4 minutes instead of just 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I know that you aren't supposed to rate recipes you change, but the change I made was so good that I wanted to share it with others! I picked this recipe because I had all the ingredients on hand. I stuffed the cheese and nuts into the figs, then went to the fridge and got out the bacon to wrap them. To my horror, the bacon was moldy. I felt like I needed something for more flavor, so I grabbed a jar of cherry balsamic vinegar (I really like cherry balsamic vinegar dressing on salads with sweeter ingredients so I keep it in the house) and drizzled some on each fig. Oh my gosh! So amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
So easy and everyone loved it. I used fresh black mission figs and precooked bacon. I hear the host of the party I attended ate the leftovers for breakfast the next day:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is very lovely - we had it as a dessert. I used prosciutto instead of bacon, omitted the nuts and drizzled with a balsamic reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Delicious, easy to prepare, unique, and elegant but not pretentious - what's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was heavenly! It convinced my husband that figs aren't so bad after all. I took a reviewer's advice and precooked the bacon in the microwave so that it would broil faster and the cheese wouldn't bubble out. I didn't cook it all the way, just 2 minutes, but next time I'll cook it longer. The bacon didn't want to brown up nicely under the broiler, and I lost some cheese. But still, it was delicious and I'll be making it again whenever I want to impress guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Greta Elliott
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
RARE AND FABULOUS FRESH FIG RECIPE. I bought fully cooked bacon, it's very thin and pliable. Also, crumbled goat cheese instead of the wet variety. I stuck to the directions, but ran out of bacon, so I pushed bacon bits into the top of a few. I had to be careful not to split my figs when pushing in the cheese, nuts, AND bacon bits, so wrapping is much better if you're able. I also cut the tips off the figs before slicing in half. You can see the picture of mine, it's the one with the toothpick still in it. I HIGHLY suggest using thin cooked bacon with this recipe, otherwise bacon bits can work, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I have to say, for how excited I was to make these, they were one of the more disappointing things I've ever tried. For one thing, they took nearly 20 minutes and still came out half burnt and half rubber, even rotating the pan AND the figs. Apparently if you use half decent bacon this recipe doesn't work? There was no clear definition of flavors; you couldn't taste anything, it was just muddy. I have made a similar app using sliced grilled brats in place of the bacon, finishing the whole thing on the grill, and it comes out fantastic. I will definitely be going back to that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
* An extra star. I made this for my parents and my boyfriend; they LOVED it! I did make a couple of chages: first I used Turkey Bacon, and I cooked it for about 1-2 minutes on each side(Just enough to begin to see it cook). I alos used Gorgonzola Cheese because it was cheaper. My parents took some to work and there Co-workers were blown away at how good they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States