Figs Oozing with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
This dish is different and unique in it's tastes. Sweet but smooth. The perfect little addition to a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
The first time I made these, I used dried figs (fresh figs out of season), and was taken away. The second time I was able to get my hands on fresh figs and I was completely amazed at the difference. Fresh figs really make the difference. Any fig lover will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Well, I tried this recipe on a dare. I'm a very picky eater. This turned out great, the taste was very unusual, but good. If you want to suprise someone with the ingredients of what they just ate...this is a good candidate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
Excelent.We tried it as written, and with a couple of variation: 1.Use half goat cheese and half ricotta with a generous sprinkle of Pecorino Romano. 2.Use Parmesan and Ricotta with a for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2000
well, I didn't have grape leaves, so I substituted Prosciutto as the wrap. It was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This is a very elegant and delicious dish. I served it to friends as an appetizer at a barbeque and they loved it. Some prep tips: Let the goat cheese come to room temperature before trying to pipe it into the figs. It will make your life much easier! Fill the figs as full as you can. It's hard to tell how much cheese you've put in and I wish I had put more. If you insert the tip of the pastry bags deep into the fig then squeeze as you slowly pull it out, you will have a nice even amount of cheese all through the fig. I also wrapped mine in proscuitto which was fabulous! I forgot to drizzle the honey and it was still wonderful and since it wasn't sticky, they could be eaten as finger food. I sliced each fig in half and arranged them on a platter. I also cut off the hard stems so my guests wouldn't have to. Try this, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Great combination of flavors. I didn't really follow the recipe but just cut a wedge in the figs, stuffed them with goat cheese, and placed them on the top rack of the grill for about 15 minutes. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
The grill was out of gas and I didn’t have grape leaves, so I broiled them on high (sans leaves) for 3 minutes with fabulous results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Quite tasty. I don't have a piping bag, grape leaves, or a grill, so I made fig "sandwiches" by cutting the figs part-way through and spreading goat cheese inside with a knife. Then I broiled them cut-side up. I stuffed walnuts inside after they came out and before topping with honey. One caution: don't use too creamy of a goat cheese. Mine got a little greasy with a triple creme cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Outstanding recipe! I didn't have grape leaves so I used prosciutto instead to wrap the figs. Also, I used fresh rosemary from my garden as skewers. I bet these are great broiled but grilling them was out of this world. The honey was a great finishing touch. I plan on making these for an upcoming Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States