Figs Oozing with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I love this recipe. For something very simple it comes out very elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Oozing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
After reading others reviews I decided to use grape leaves and prosciutto. My subjects said the grape leaves had a strange tobacco taste from the grill, overall not great but not bad. The prosciutto was a bigger hit. They liked the mixture of sweet and salty. I also made a batch without any wrap. Pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
These were so wonderful and I didn't even have fresh figs, had to use dried ones. I used dried Mission figs. I cut them in half, placed a ball of goat cheese on the cut side then wrapped it well in prosciutto (one of the few pork meats we eat on rare occasions). I drizzled honey over them and popped them in the toaster oven. They were sooo good and highly addictive! I can't wait for figs to be in season so I can try these with fresh figs. I thnk these would also be good with a cheese like Gorganzola, which I plan to try soon. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I love figs and I love goat cheese. These were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Wow! What a fantastic basic recipe. The weather was horrible, so I cooked these up over the stove and skipped the honey. Works great with fresh dates, too. My husband usually passes on goat cheese, but these tasty tidbits disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
OMG--these are soooo good!! That said, let me tell you how I messed up making them. First, I didn't think to let the cheese come to room temp and when I attempted to pipe it into the figs I had to squeeze the bag so hard it broke! I tried microwaving it to warm the cheese, but the bag was so far gone, I gave up on trying to pipe it in. I cut them nearly in half, then spread the cheese on with a knife and squeezed them back together, which worked just fine. THEN I tried to grill them, but I think because the cheese was still a little cold it wouldn't melt before the figs started to get crispy. I took them off the grill and stuck 'em in the microwave (I forget how long--a minute maybe?). When they came out, I drizzled them with the honey and served them. After all of that, they were absolutely wonderful and worth every minute of work. Everyone at our dinner party loved them and I will definitely make them again, in one form or another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dogscanlookup
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I adapted this recipe recently for an culinary student cheese competition and came in 2nd place locally. The flavors were great and the presentation was beautiful. Unfortunately, there just was not enough cheese inside the figs. Hoping to squeeze 1TB of cheese inside was wishful thinking at best. :( In my version, I added chopped fresh thyme and cracked black pepper to the cheese, wrapped them in prosciutto and skewered them on rosemary stalks before grilling. For presentation, I served them on a bed of red-wine vinaigrette-dressed micro greens with a honey and balsamic reduction drizzle ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dogscanlookup

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
They were a big hit at a BBQ, without the grape leaves. Agree with the other reviews that honey made a fabulous addition. Easy to make. Little clean up. And D-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I reeaaalllly wasn't sure about the goat cheese part of this recipe. I love figs, but wasn't sure how this would turn out. It's absolutely delicious! The goat cheese balances out the figs, and the honey drizzled on it adds the finishing touch. I didn't use the grape leaves and it was still phenominal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States