Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I made this along with a bunch of other dishes for a party, and this was, by far, the standout of the evening! The only adjustment I made to the recipe was simmering the figs, brown sugar, & vanilla in much more water than the two Tbsp. for about twenty minutes until it turned syrupy. Then I refrigerated this overnight before using on the cheese the next day, letting the figs really absorb the syrup and soften. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I have made this several times now and it is just wonderful. As a timesaver, I purchased fig jam from Williams-Sonoma and put this on top of the brie (rind removed throughout). Also, try it with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
We thought this was delicious. It was a great dinner - green salad, this, and French bread. Mmmm. A few thoughts - if your figs are very ripe, you don't need 10 minutes to soften them. Whole, toasted almonds are divine in this. And if you peel the rind off your cheese, it becomes a gooey dip. Next time we'll leave the rind on so it stays a bit more in its' original form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Delicious and a hit at the party. I could not get fresh figs, used 1/2 pkg of dried about 8-12, increased the water to 4T and the vanilla to 1t. Cooked the figs longer to soften. Next time I'll try soaking the figs overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I decided to try this recipe and it was absolutely wonderful. Everyone loved it!! I cut each fig into 8 pieces and cut the almonds into halves. The cheese was done in less than 10 minutes. Next time I'll add more figs and make more syrup. It was really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! I used a 20 oz. baby brie. I also cut the figs into eigths. I kept the almonds whole, but toasted them in the oven for about 15 minutes. Finally, instead of water crackers, I served the cheese with french bread. The result was visually gorgeous and tasted wonderful. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
These were great after initially not liking this. But, I stuck with it and reread some of the reviews to see what I needed to do to make it better. 1) Don't eat it with heavy crackers like Wasa- it messes up the flavor combination. We used Honey Butter Ritz and that was much better. 2) Next time I'll chop up the figs because they hold together too much in just quarters and it's hard to spread on a cracker without getting a huge glob of fig. 3) Be sure to cook the figs, sugar, water, vanilla combo long enough to get it think and goopy. It needs to blend well with each other. Very exotic tasting and fancy! We had it with Salmon and Wild Rice and it was a fabulous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
OH MY GOD!!! This recipe is absolutly wonderful. I followed the other reviewer advise and add more figs. Its sounds and looks SOOOO Gourmet, but is so simple. It was a hit at my party. Everyone wanted the recipe! Thank you Casandra I'm happy to give you my first review. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I only used half a wheel of cheese (camembert... because that what I had) but I made the full amount of syrup, upping the water to about 4 tbp. I made it a couple of hours ahead & let it sit, covered, on the stove until hubby came home. The almonds (I used slivered) got kinda soft & carmelized...I loved them! And the figs imparted such great flavor to teh simple syrup....be sure & make extra syrup! I served it w/ barely buttered, toasted french bread. Fabulous, easy recipe....thanks for sharing Casandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
We have a fig tree that is really producing this year. After reading this recipe, I decided to try it. My husband and I both loved it! I'm not that crazy about figs but this was wonderful. I did take other advice and make more syrup. Can't wait to make this again for friends! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States