Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I only used half a wheel of cheese (camembert... because that what I had) but I made the full amount of syrup, upping the water to about 4 tbp. I made it a couple of hours ahead & let it sit, covered, on the stove until hubby came home. The almonds (I used slivered) got kinda soft & carmelized...I loved them! And the figs imparted such great flavor to teh simple syrup....be sure & make extra syrup! I served it w/ barely buttered, toasted french bread. Fabulous, easy recipe....thanks for sharing Casandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
We have a fig tree that is really producing this year. After reading this recipe, I decided to try it. My husband and I both loved it! I'm not that crazy about figs but this was wonderful. I did take other advice and make more syrup. Can't wait to make this again for friends! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Delicious and a hit at the party. I could not get fresh figs, used 1/2 pkg of dried about 8-12, increased the water to 4T and the vanilla to 1t. Cooked the figs longer to soften. Next time I'll try soaking the figs overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATTYRO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I made this along with a bunch of other dishes for a party, and this was, by far, the standout of the evening! The only adjustment I made to the recipe was simmering the figs, brown sugar, & vanilla in much more water than the two Tbsp. for about twenty minutes until it turned syrupy. Then I refrigerated this overnight before using on the cheese the next day, letting the figs really absorb the syrup and soften. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I brought this to a New Year's Eve party, and everyone loved it! I purchased dried whole figs since fresh figs are now out of season. It was great. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
i'm a novice at baking brie but this recipe looked so nice i had to give it a try. my local markets only had canned or dried figs so i went with the canned california variety & used the syrup (instead of water) as recommended. my brie wheel only weighed 7 oz. which ended up being the perfect size for the two of us as this was part of our christmas brunch. overall the flavor was pretty good spread over water crackers. i followed another reviewer's suggestion of serving sliced pears with this recipe. i thought the pears somewhat complimented the dish however my boyfriend didn't & felt their taste clashed with the figs. thanks casandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I used a fig jam instead of the fresh figs. Unfortunatley the jam wasn't too tasty but the cheese and nuts combined were lovely. Next time I will either use the fresh figs or a jam which I know I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This was a GREAT combo. I have a large fig bush and wanted a few recipes to use up some of the figs. My friends really enjoyed this. It would even be perfect at the holidays. I left the fig sauce to thicken in the pan and ate it with toasted bread. MMM MMM good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This is fabuluous! I needed to use the figs from our tree and this was perfect! Didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States