Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
These were great after initially not liking this. But, I stuck with it and reread some of the reviews to see what I needed to do to make it better. 1) Don't eat it with heavy crackers like Wasa- it messes up the flavor combination. We used Honey Butter Ritz and that was much better. 2) Next time I'll chop up the figs because they hold together too much in just quarters and it's hard to spread on a cracker without getting a huge glob of fig. 3) Be sure to cook the figs, sugar, water, vanilla combo long enough to get it think and goopy. It needs to blend well with each other. Very exotic tasting and fancy! We had it with Salmon and Wild Rice and it was a fabulous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was the first to make this but it was extremely easy and fast! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
A wonderful way to have Brie. I loved it w/ the figs. I baked this for 20 minutes so the brie was nice and warm and soft. I doubled everything in the recipe so there was tons of topping to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I also used packaged figs but they were still soft and I cut them into tiny pieces, simmered in dark brown sugar, a little more water, added a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg and toasted lmond slivers. Is the hit of my party. Served with those little tiny toasts from Trader Joes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I've made this twice for company and have received rave reviews. Both times, I have used dried figs. Same quantity, but diced. I also use more water to help hydrate the figs. (Sorry, I eyeballed it - probably about 4 tbsp total). I also didn't bother toasting the almonds. No one seemed to mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMPER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
So good and so easy! I couldn't find fresh figs and used dried instead. I added enough water to cover the figs in a small saucepan and simmered until syrup-y. Next time, I will cut the figs into smaller pieces since they seemed just a little too big. Watch your cheese closely in the oven. I baked too long and it melted. No one complained as they scooped out the delicious gooey goodness. Served with Ritz-type crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family went crazy for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Great! Would be a sweet, wonderful appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
YUM! This is the first time I've cooked with figs, and it was a great introduction. I will be celebrating National Fig Week (Nov 1-7) with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
We thought this was delicious. It was a great dinner - green salad, this, and French bread. Mmmm. A few thoughts - if your figs are very ripe, you don't need 10 minutes to soften them. Whole, toasted almonds are divine in this. And if you peel the rind off your cheese, it becomes a gooey dip. Next time we'll leave the rind on so it stays a bit more in its' original form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States