Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I've made this twice for company and have received rave reviews. Both times, I have used dried figs. Same quantity, but diced. I also use more water to help hydrate the figs. (Sorry, I eyeballed it - probably about 4 tbsp total). I also didn't bother toasting the almonds. No one seemed to mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMPER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
So good and so easy! I couldn't find fresh figs and used dried instead. I added enough water to cover the figs in a small saucepan and simmered until syrup-y. Next time, I will cut the figs into smaller pieces since they seemed just a little too big. Watch your cheese closely in the oven. I baked too long and it melted. No one complained as they scooped out the delicious gooey goodness. Served with Ritz-type crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family went crazy for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Great! Would be a sweet, wonderful appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
YUM! This is the first time I've cooked with figs, and it was a great introduction. I will be celebrating National Fig Week (Nov 1-7) with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
We thought this was delicious. It was a great dinner - green salad, this, and French bread. Mmmm. A few thoughts - if your figs are very ripe, you don't need 10 minutes to soften them. Whole, toasted almonds are divine in this. And if you peel the rind off your cheese, it becomes a gooey dip. Next time we'll leave the rind on so it stays a bit more in its' original form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I only used half a wheel of cheese (camembert... because that what I had) but I made the full amount of syrup, upping the water to about 4 tbp. I made it a couple of hours ahead & let it sit, covered, on the stove until hubby came home. The almonds (I used slivered) got kinda soft & carmelized...I loved them! And the figs imparted such great flavor to teh simple syrup....be sure & make extra syrup! I served it w/ barely buttered, toasted french bread. Fabulous, easy recipe....thanks for sharing Casandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
We have a fig tree that is really producing this year. After reading this recipe, I decided to try it. My husband and I both loved it! I'm not that crazy about figs but this was wonderful. I did take other advice and make more syrup. Can't wait to make this again for friends! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Delicious and a hit at the party. I could not get fresh figs, used 1/2 pkg of dried about 8-12, increased the water to 4T and the vanilla to 1t. Cooked the figs longer to soften. Next time I'll try soaking the figs overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATTYRO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States