Fig Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Really good - several people asked me for the recipe or to make it again. I too put the figs in a food processor, and made the cake in a bundt pan, and then in mini bundt pans the second time around. make sure you grease and flour the pan really well, the cake will stick a bit otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I made this with fresh figs from my tree. 1lb 1 oz. and dident add any extra water. I dident have any buttermilk so sub'ed regular milk with a little bit of vinager. This cake was so incredibly moist it was barly a cake anymore. That being said everyone LOVED it. I brought half pan to my trainer and he ate the whole thing without sharing. Its not real pretty to look at. I supose you could add some purple food coloring. I am thinking about making some marscapone or goat cheese whip cream and reduced lemon drizzle to fancy it up a bit. I will repost when I have tried it. Heaven knows I have enough figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
So good!!! I made it for four people and we ate most of it within an hour. I substituted pecans for walnuts and per the advice of another reviewer, put the figs into the food processor instead of chopping them. I will be making this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
this cake tastes and smells delicious... I added some powdered sugar and buttermilk frosting on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I usually don't bother writing reviews, but this recipe is amazing. I substituted the buttermilk with my homemade yogurt and it turned out great. It is now my absolutely favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
very good recipe. although i love figs, i don't care for big chucks of them in the cake so i pureed them. cake turned out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax Renegade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Made this for a lunch time treat with tea for some freind and they all had seconds! I added a mashed banana and some random dried apricots and prunes to clear from cupboards and it was delicious. Without these the cake is fine and very moist. I made this to get rid of some dried figs I have had for ages but now I think Ill have to by some more figs and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Moist and fluffy! Works well with fresh figs= 1lb. Added lemon zest for extra aroma. Nonfat yogurt can be substituted for butter milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is an excellent base recipe for some great fruit cakes. I actually made a recipe of bananas foster and coarse mashed half of the cooked bananas into the spice cake batter. the remaining sauce and bananas were used to glaze and top the cake. the results were outstanding!! definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pugnificent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
delicious! I made a few modifications... mainly due to what I had on hand. I used yogurt instead of buttermilk and hazelnuts instead of walnuts. next time I will use a little more spices, not quite spiced enough for my taste, but still quite lovely. I also baked the batter in a mini-muffin pan (15 minutes) which makes them easy, handy snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States