Fig Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Great recipe. If you have time to soak the figs longer, they will plump up nicely. I added ground cloves, nutmeg & cinn. Also used a lime, insted of lemon. Will be making this again n again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
A good starter recipe. To the people who are taking out the lemon, DON'T! Figs are a low-acid food (ph below 5) and this means that mold and harmful bacteria will likely form UNLESS the fruit mixture has some kind of acid added to it (lemon juice, citric acid). The lemons in this are absolutely necessary, for food safety. If you don't use it, then your beautiful preserves are extremely like to make you sick, or could even kill you. Do not take that risk--ADD THE LEMON JUICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mckaufman
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I've never made figs before so I didn't know what to expect. The taste of the preserved figs is delicious. So sweet, a great topping to toast. However, I expected the consistency to be like that of jam - nice and thick. The figs were whole, but they sat in an extremely runny sticky syrup. This is still a delicious recipe, but just be warned, that the end result is whole figs in a sweet syrup, not a "set" jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe, even with not as ripe figs. Texture is great, added a touch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Made these yesterday with only change of using 3 small lemons sliced very thinly. Hubby just gave me the thumbs up...ate several on some homemade bread. This recipe yielded 22 one-half pints as written. This recipe is the real McCoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Never put up preserves in my life. This was simple and absolutely delicious. Followed the recipe to the letter. Thanks Dottie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I just discovered I had a fig tree in the house I just bought. Needless to say i was scrambling around to find something to do with these lovely figs. I am so happy I found this recipe. It was so delicious! Easy and my parents loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very easy recipie. I made one batch exactly as the recipie states, but made a second sugar free(diabetic) batch with Xylo (ran out of Xylo had to use a little Splenda). In the sugar free batch I also added dried ginger chunks, cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cloves. Had a great aroma and both recipies turned out great. The full recipie cooks down and I ended up with 6 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Having recently bought a house with a large fig tree in the back yard, I was looking for a good recipe that would use a lot of figs at once. (I love to eat the sweet and tender fruit straight from the tree and couldn't keep up with so many coming off each day.) My neighbor told me that her mother used to make fig preserves with lemon thinly sliced in them, so after making this recipe I gave her a jar of them with a pan of hot biscuits straight from the oven. It was a delight watching this 82-year-old woman literally devour two buttery biscuits filled with these figs. She was so thrilled and said that they tasted exactly like those that her Mother made many years ago. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is a recipe my family loves. It's quick & easy. No need to alter this recipe. Not only does it taste great with toast & butter, you can add a scoop to plain yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aileena17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States