Fig Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Now I won't be wasting given figs ever. Never liked the taste of fresh figs. Followed the recipe and results are delicious. Excellent recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I see where someone correctly stated that the removal of the lemons is a safety issue. They are indeed correct! If the lemons offend you there is another option. Add the juice of two lemons or one teaspoon of citric acid to lower the ph of the batch. This will prevent the growth of most bacteria, yeast and other organisms. There is yet a third alternative. You could can using a three hour process. Follow the above directions, omit the lemons if you please and the fill jars and apply caps and bands. Then process for three hours at pressure. Essentially follow the process directions for green beans. Warning, the figs will macerate into a goo and lose the color but the result will taste much the same. I am a food science instructor. I warn you, do not alter food preservation techniques. Use the tried and tested. it will save you toilet tissue, insurance co-pay and much bathroom trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EDDIEGIRL
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Thank you Dotti K for this recipe. This recipe is easy to follow. I did some research and found that you can chop up the figs before you the cooking process, I quartered the large ones and halved the small ones. The taste is sweet and fruity. This would go great on pound cake, baked brie and pancakes. I would change the name of the recipe to "figs in syrup" since it is not a preserve or jam style recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I've used this recipe at least twice and it's delish! Just the right texture & nice thick consistency. I alter the recipe to add 4 tsp of vanilla for the 64 servings and its my biggest requested preserve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Excellent. I cut the recipe in half, but still used a whole lemon, and added a tiny amount of cinnamon. These figs are just wonderful with a plate of artisanal cheeses, roasted nuts, crusty baguette and olives. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casandra Yaz
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Follow recipe just as published. Works great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Not quite the one I did as a teen. The one I did I had to put the figs in a shallow pan (after cooking), cook the syrup down and then pour the syrup over them and let it "sit" overnight. The next morning, I heated the pan just enough to get them hot enough to work with, then put them in the jars. No processing necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is the perfect recpie for old-fashioned fig preserves. I chose this recipe over anothr with spices because I wanted a purer flavor. The balance of flavors is perfect. The amber color is beautiful. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I thought this was delicious but takes a little getting used to. I like the lemon flavor but not the lemon slices in my preserves so I push them aside when I'm enjoying this on toast or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Great recipe. If you have time to soak the figs longer, they will plump up nicely. I added ground cloves, nutmeg & cinn. Also used a lime, insted of lemon. Will be making this again n again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States