Fig Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Very easy recipe with simple ingredients. The fig preserves are tasty, however they did not "set" and are very runny. Maybe they are not suppose to, but I prefer my fig preserves thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Very good!!! Easy, and just like my mother used to make. Fig preserves are supposed to be in liquid. So this was just what I wanted. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
have been looking for a recipe for fig preserves for awhile. Love this one!! Thanks for sharing. The instructions were easy and it is now a part of my family recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleta Hand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Having recently bought a house with a large fig tree in the back yard, I was looking for a good recipe that would use a lot of figs at once. (I love to eat the sweet and tender fruit straight from the tree and couldn't keep up with so many coming off each day.) My neighbor told me that her mother used to make fig preserves with lemon thinly sliced in them, so after making this recipe I gave her a jar of them with a pan of hot biscuits straight from the oven. It was a delight watching this 82-year-old woman literally devour two buttery biscuits filled with these figs. She was so thrilled and said that they tasted exactly like those that her Mother made many years ago. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
A good starter recipe. To the people who are taking out the lemon, DON'T! Figs are a low-acid food (ph below 5) and this means that mold and harmful bacteria will likely form UNLESS the fruit mixture has some kind of acid added to it (lemon juice, citric acid). The lemons in this are absolutely necessary, for food safety. If you don't use it, then your beautiful preserves are extremely like to make you sick, or could even kill you. Do not take that risk--ADD THE LEMON JUICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
really, really easy. try it for yourself. i added some nutmeg, cinnamon, vanilla, and ginger instead of lemon. it made the house smell delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
It came out very sweet, nothing like store bought stuff, with figs holding their form beautifully. Next time i'll put more lemon because mine came out sweet with no particular flavor. Great with yeast pancakes in place of a syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOT SKILLET

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Made these yesterday with only change of using 3 small lemons sliced very thinly. Hubby just gave me the thumbs up...ate several on some homemade bread. This recipe yielded 22 one-half pints as written. This recipe is the real McCoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
delicious, this is how it should be made, and make with ease - thank you for sharing this with us. ps. added another lb to my weight, but who's counting?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Easy and good. I will use this recipe every year for my fig preserves. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States