Fig Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I've used this recipe at least twice and it's delish! Just the right texture & nice thick consistency. I alter the recipe to add 4 tsp of vanilla for the 64 servings and its my biggest requested preserve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Excellent. I cut the recipe in half, but still used a whole lemon, and added a tiny amount of cinnamon. These figs are just wonderful with a plate of artisanal cheeses, roasted nuts, crusty baguette and olives. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casandra Yaz
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Follow recipe just as published. Works great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Not quite the one I did as a teen. The one I did I had to put the figs in a shallow pan (after cooking), cook the syrup down and then pour the syrup over them and let it "sit" overnight. The next morning, I heated the pan just enough to get them hot enough to work with, then put them in the jars. No processing necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is the perfect recpie for old-fashioned fig preserves. I chose this recipe over anothr with spices because I wanted a purer flavor. The balance of flavors is perfect. The amber color is beautiful. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I thought this was delicious but takes a little getting used to. I like the lemon flavor but not the lemon slices in my preserves so I push them aside when I'm enjoying this on toast or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Great recipe. If you have time to soak the figs longer, they will plump up nicely. I added ground cloves, nutmeg & cinn. Also used a lime, insted of lemon. Will be making this again n again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
A good starter recipe. To the people who are taking out the lemon, DON'T! Figs are a low-acid food (ph below 5) and this means that mold and harmful bacteria will likely form UNLESS the fruit mixture has some kind of acid added to it (lemon juice, citric acid). The lemons in this are absolutely necessary, for food safety. If you don't use it, then your beautiful preserves are extremely like to make you sick, or could even kill you. Do not take that risk--ADD THE LEMON JUICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mckaufman
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I've never made figs before so I didn't know what to expect. The taste of the preserved figs is delicious. So sweet, a great topping to toast. However, I expected the consistency to be like that of jam - nice and thick. The figs were whole, but they sat in an extremely runny sticky syrup. This is still a delicious recipe, but just be warned, that the end result is whole figs in a sweet syrup, not a "set" jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe, even with not as ripe figs. Texture is great, added a touch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States