Fig Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I just tried this recipe and I could tell the list of ingredients was missing 1 Egg and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I added the egg and vanilla to the creamed butter and sugar. After chilling the stiff, crumbly dough, instead of using a lightly floured surface, I rolled the dough into a long rope about 1.5" in diameter between 2 pieces of plastic wrap. I cut the rope into 12" long pieces and worked with 1 piece at a time rolling it between the plastic wrap to 3" wide by 1/4" thickness. I then spread the fig mixture down the middle half of the dough. Using the plastic wrap for control, I folded the front part over the mixture to the center of the filling and repeated this step for the back portion overlapping the front slightly. Pick each piece up with the plastic wrap and position on prepared cookie sheet with the seam side down. I baked for only 20 minutes and cut into serving size pieces before the bars cooled. These were delicious, a little crispier than packaged fig bars but definitely much better tasting. If you use 3 cups of dried figs, you'll have enough filling for at least 2 more batches of bars. I used 2 lbs of dried figs (1 lb is about 2 cups), put a lot of filling in mine and have leftovers for several more batches which is great because I'm making them again. This recipe is a keeper. I did make one other change, I used half white and half brown sugar in the fig mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is a great dessert, i had no problems with it. I used 1tsp vanilla. The only changes i made after reading the reviews was... #1-added no water to the 3cups fresh figs, cooked on med low until thick paste. Did not kneed dough,sqeezed into 2 ball, then flattened to roll out on a lightly floured surface. When placed in dish dough was alittle larger, so after adding the fig paste, i laid the dough back over the figs, then added the top. I will be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmofaustin
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These are very yummy! I made them with fig preserves instead of fresh figs. I followed the recipe for the cookie dough but added another tablespoon of milk. I did not refrigerate it. It was a dry crumble so I spread half of it on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and then put a sheet on top and gentle rolled it out with a rolling pin. I then spread the fig preserves on top of the dough, then sprinkled the rest of the dough on top and with the parchment paper, gently rolled the dough out. As soon as it came out of the oven, I used a pizza cutter to trim the edges and cut into squares. These are very good cookies and do not require eggs because that would make something totally different. I will make these again with raspberry jam or apple filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Easy to make and downright delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
I used 3 cups of fresh figs and only added about one-fourth cup of water to cook the filling. Mine turned out more like a cobbler than bars, but it had an excellent flavor. My husband loved it and the kids thought I had used apple (I didn't tell them any different!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
mass producing as we speak for thanksgiving :) awesome fig recipe my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icerose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I wanted to give this recipe the benefit of the doubt, so I made it as directed. It is true, the dough needs a bit more milk-not really a big deal. When I took it from the fridge, it was too crumbly, so I added enough milk to make it workable. Transferring it to the pan was tricky-it does indeed fall apart on the way. I pieced it together for the bottom, then for the top layer, I simply folded itself over on itself a few times, transferred it and unfolded it. Beautiful and flawless. The finished product-wonderful taste and texture. We loved these. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I used fresh figs off our tree, using the review for 3 cups figs, 1 cup sugar, 1/4 cup water, dash all spice & cinnamon. After simmering nearly an hour, the pan was about dry so added another 1/8c water. Tried to purée the figs in the food processor, but they were a thick candy consistency. This did not make enough filling for the recipe, so next time will use 4c fresh figs, purée first before simmering. To the dough I added 1 egg & 1/2 ts vanilla per reviews and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARYMAYBE
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This is going to be long but I have a lot to say..I read the reviews therefore very hesitant and with good reason, but all was not a loss. I knew going in i needed to make some changes. I have a fig tree so i have been looking for things to prepare with them. I used 3 cups fresh figs with 1 cup sugar and a pinch of cinnamon and allpice and 1/4 cup water and just simmered them for an hour 1/2. Meanwhile I put the dough together by directions and discovered that it was not dough at all more of a crumbly mixture so I added a TBS. of cream and 2 eggs, this produced and very sticky dough. I refrigerated it for an hour and then floured my board and kneeded it 5 or 6 times. when i rolled it out it was very soft and when i tried to pick it up it would fall apart so i floured my already greased disn and just spread it out, once the fig mixture was nice and thick and gooey i spooned it in and then i was ready for the top layer of dough, i finally was able to fold like a business letter and laid on top of figs got the first fold over nicely and then oh my goodness the other side fell apart so I patiently pieced it all together and pinched any cracks and into the oven. 1 hour and 15 minutes. let it cool and cut into bars..My son said they are better than the ones from the store. As a possible solution to the too soft dough, I am going to try only one egg next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYMAYBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is truly a recipe for creatives and problem solvers. My mother in law puts up jars of figs from her tree. She parboils them with sugar water and freezes the jars so all I had to do for filling was thaw and cook down. I decided to add egg white along with the milk about 4 TBLS of milk and egg white all together. Trying to bring a healthy aspect to baking I used finely ground oat bran as part of the flour and coconut oil as half of the butter and coconut sugar and a bit of rice syrup as the sugar. I noticed after mixing it all together it had a cake batter consistency though after the hour in the fridge it was firmed up. I took half the dough made a ball and flattened it and put it in the bottom of the 9x13 dish covered it with wax paper and rolled it out with a straight sided glass and lifted off the paper. Worked perfectly, I scraped off any dough on the paper and filled thin places. After putting the filling in over that I took the other half of the dough made a ball flattened it and rolled it between two pieces of wax paper, put it in the freezer for 10 minutes. This worked OK on the end that was thicker but not well at all on the end I had rolled out thinner. After scraping dough off the paper and laying it on the filling I was 1/3 short of covering the whole pan so I made another 1/3 of dough and in it's cake batter consistency I just poured it on, much easier and spreadable. Maybe the bottom layer of dough does need to be cold so the filling doesnt mix in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States