Fig Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Thankfully I read the reviews before I started making these. I followed a lot of MaryMaybe's suggestions. I added an extra tablespoon of milk, 1 egg and a tablespoon of vanilla to the dough part. I ended up refrigerating it for about 20 hours. It wasn't planned, but it definitely helped with making the dough tougher and easier to work with. I didn't have any problems with it falling apart. I didn't have any self-rising flour so I used regular flower with a little bit of yeast. Be careful, these things double in size in the oven!!! I used fresh figs, used about 1/3c water, added the other filling ingredients and let it simmer for an hour. I also added allspice and cinnamon to the filling and that turned out great! Overall, I absolutely loved how the cookies came out and will definitely make these again. After sampling how the dough and filling was turning out, I ended up doubling it at the last minute. I am VERY glad I did that! Doubling the recipe went great and I didn't have any issues. We had about 1/2c of filling leftover and my husband had no problems eating it on toast. This will be a recipe I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Tried this recipe with much trepidation as did others but was encouraged that everyone said they tasted great. And they do! However there were errors made in the recipe. First, other than omitting vanilla from the ingredient list, which I didn't use, the ingredient list is correct. However, the mixing instructions should have been more like a pastry mix rather than a cake mix. I didn't cream the butter and sugar. I added the sugar to the other dry ingredients then cut in the butter just as I would for pie pastry. Then I added the milk. I did have to add a tablespoon extra milk but that kind of variant occurs with any pastry recipe according to the humidity of the flour so I didn't think anything of that. After mixing with a fork, I continued mixing the dough with my hands until it came together, exactly like pie pastry. Then I rolled half out, spread with the fig filling, covered with the other half of rolled out pastry and pinched the edges. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is truly a recipe for creatives and problem solvers. My mother in law puts up jars of figs from her tree. She parboils them with sugar water and freezes the jars so all I had to do for filling was thaw and cook down. I decided to add egg white along with the milk about 4 TBLS of milk and egg white all together. Trying to bring a healthy aspect to baking I used finely ground oat bran as part of the flour and coconut oil as half of the butter and coconut sugar and a bit of rice syrup as the sugar. I noticed after mixing it all together it had a cake batter consistency though after the hour in the fridge it was firmed up. I took half the dough made a ball and flattened it and put it in the bottom of the 9x13 dish covered it with wax paper and rolled it out with a straight sided glass and lifted off the paper. Worked perfectly, I scraped off any dough on the paper and filled thin places. After putting the filling in over that I took the other half of the dough made a ball flattened it and rolled it between two pieces of wax paper, put it in the freezer for 10 minutes. This worked OK on the end that was thicker but not well at all on the end I had rolled out thinner. After scraping dough off the paper and laying it on the filling I was 1/3 short of covering the whole pan so I made another 1/3 of dough and in it's cake batter consistency I just poured it on, much easier and spreadable. Maybe the bottom layer of dough does need to be cold so the filling doesnt mix in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I used fresh figs off our tree, using the review for 3 cups figs, 1 cup sugar, 1/4 cup water, dash all spice & cinnamon. After simmering nearly an hour, the pan was about dry so added another 1/8c water. Tried to purée the figs in the food processor, but they were a thick candy consistency. This did not make enough filling for the recipe, so next time will use 4c fresh figs, purée first before simmering. To the dough I added 1 egg & 1/2 ts vanilla per reviews and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Perhaps the worst recipe I've ever tried! There were several missing ingredients, including egg(s) to make the dough hold together. The instructions were so unclear that if you've never made a jam/preserve type filling such as this as I hadn't, you may end up with burnt filling and a ruined pot (I actually had to throw my pot away) as I kept cooking the filling expecting it to magically turn into a jam-like thing, not knowing that I would need to puree it after cooking. They were rather flavorless; not even my husband, who will eat almost anything, liked them, let alone my kids who love store-bough fig bars (they wouldn't even touch them). The dough was rather difficult to make work in the pan as well, it kept cracking and didn't seem to want to cover the entire surface. I was frustrated to have wasted all my ingredients (figs aren't cheap) and wanted to review to warn others. I'm trying another recipe today and I am certain it will end up better if for no other reason than the instructions are complete and has more flavor adding ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
mass producing as we speak for thanksgiving :) awesome fig recipe my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icerose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I gave this recipe four stars out of five, because there are a couple ingredients missing from the ingredient list and the dough was really difficult to work with. Having said that, once I got past these couple things the fig bars really turned out great! They are delicious. I had fresh figs at home so I used three cups of that and only added 1/4 cup of water and a cup of sugar for the filling. For the dough I added an egg to the ingredients listed, 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and 3 tbsp of milk. Even with these additions the dough was really sticky and difficult to roll out. I think next time I will try adding an extra egg to the dough mixture, and see if it is easier to work with. Overall, really yummy recipe and great for those with fig trees at home and looking for ways to use them. My family loved these and I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I just tried this recipe and I could tell the list of ingredients was missing 1 Egg and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I added the egg and vanilla to the creamed butter and sugar. After chilling the stiff, crumbly dough, instead of using a lightly floured surface, I rolled the dough into a long rope about 1.5" in diameter between 2 pieces of plastic wrap. I cut the rope into 12" long pieces and worked with 1 piece at a time rolling it between the plastic wrap to 3" wide by 1/4" thickness. I then spread the fig mixture down the middle half of the dough. Using the plastic wrap for control, I folded the front part over the mixture to the center of the filling and repeated this step for the back portion overlapping the front slightly. Pick each piece up with the plastic wrap and position on prepared cookie sheet with the seam side down. I baked for only 20 minutes and cut into serving size pieces before the bars cooled. These were delicious, a little crispier than packaged fig bars but definitely much better tasting. If you use 3 cups of dried figs, you'll have enough filling for at least 2 more batches of bars. I used 2 lbs of dried figs (1 lb is about 2 cups), put a lot of filling in mine and have leftovers for several more batches which is great because I'm making them again. This recipe is a keeper. I did make one other change, I used half white and half brown sugar in the fig mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Easy to make and downright delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmofaustin
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These are very yummy! I made them with fig preserves instead of fresh figs. I followed the recipe for the cookie dough but added another tablespoon of milk. I did not refrigerate it. It was a dry crumble so I spread half of it on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and then put a sheet on top and gentle rolled it out with a rolling pin. I then spread the fig preserves on top of the dough, then sprinkled the rest of the dough on top and with the parchment paper, gently rolled the dough out. As soon as it came out of the oven, I used a pizza cutter to trim the edges and cut into squares. These are very good cookies and do not require eggs because that would make something totally different. I will make these again with raspberry jam or apple filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States