Fig and Ricotta Crostini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I had leftover fig and pine nut puree from the Dolce Pesca recipe on this site. Since I happened to have ricotta in the house, this was a perfect way to use it up. I did half with the puree and half with diced figs. On all of them, instead of just putting "a few ribbons" of basil, I covered the whole piece of bread with basil, which I think added a lot of flavor. The ones with the puree had more flavor, held the vinegar better, and you could put a lot more topping than with the diced figs. The diced fig ones were noticeably less flavorful, probably because they didn't hold as much vinegar. If I make this again, I will do the puree, and add the vinegar to the puree instead of drizzling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is my recipe. It's important to note that the ricotta should really be fresh ricotta, from a cheese shop, as it has a much different texture than the kind you buy in the dairy case. Hope you like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Not as much vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I agree with some others - this is rather bland. Maybe some cinnamon mixed into the ricotta would liven it up?? Any other suggestions welcome as I would like to see this idea work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
A delicious, but different appetizer. Also works nicely substituting pears for those anti-fig eaters (what is wrong with them?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Elegant and impressive. I made these for a family dinner and there were none leftover. I followed the recipe exactly except I put the figs into a processer and pulsed until chopped fine. It made this so much easier to eat these two bite crostinis. Use good balsamic vinegar, it makes all the difference. LOVED this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Wow! Talk about an easy but impressive appetizer. This blew everyone away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I recommend this to everyone. I just had a cocktail party for 45 people and everyone loved these. The basil leaf sliver added the perfect taste to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I have never tried figs before, and bought them on a whim at the grocer - this was a recipe I found that sounded tasty...but it actually did not have very much flavor. I used a lot of balsamic vinegar drizzled on top, and even tossed the diced figs in olive oil, but it was just ok. It certainly looked pretty, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States