Fig and Olive Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Amazing. Made this as an hors d'oeuvre for Christmas day. Everyone LOVED it. Made it same as recipe, without the walnuts. Definitely better on day 2. Served with baguette baked into croutons, goat cheese (great suggestion), and foie gras. It was a GREAT pairing with foie gras!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
the original recipe has a little too much garlic for me, but other than that it's top notch! i often bring it to dinner parties, though it's a bit pricey to make. also, if you don't have a food processor, be prepared to spend quite a bit of time preparing this. absolutely delicious recipe with a lot of character!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
eh....not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I was so excited about this recipe. I took it to a party and was so embarrased as people barely touched it. It doesn't look good at all and the taste is so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Super easy and wonderful! Substituted golden raisins for the figs, added green olives, and used goat cheese. Threw it all (except cheese and walnuts) in a food processor and pulsed for super easy prep. It was a total hit both places I took it. Would recommend chopping up the dried rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I thought this was a nice blend of flavors, but I was rather taken aback by the strong and somewhat over powering flavor of garlic. Next time I'll use less garlic, but nonetheless this was quite tasty and I will definitely be making this again. As other reviewers have said, goat cheese is a must for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Some of my guests really loved this tapenade. I think it may have been too spicy for others. I might try it again without the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was really spectacular, and unlike anything I'd had before. I served this at a card party on thinly sliced pieces of a good baguette and my friends devoured the whole plate. I used equal parts fresh goat cheese mixed with cream cheese and a few tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was a big hit at the party! Like another reviewer, I used fresh figs (double the dried-fig measure and half the water). It takes a while to reduce. Once the other ingredients are added, it's absolutely imperative that the mixture is left to sit overnight. Served over softened cream cheese, with Lesley Stowe brand crackers. So! Good! I know there would only be dried figs available in the fall/winter, but with the walnuts on top, this would look especially lovely at a Thanksgiving or Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was really good! I put the dried herbs in a pestle and mortar, and smushed them. So had no problem with "crunchy" herbs..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States