Fig and Olive Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Served this at a red wine tasting, which worked out well since I could make this ahead of time. Followed the recipe exactly, except used goat cheese instead of cream cheese as suggested by other reviewers. Loved it and would make it again with the goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I thought this was OK. I am not a huge fan of cream cheese type things though, and others seemed to like it a lot. The only change I made was that I only had mixed nuts on hand to top with instead of the walnuts, but I can't imagine that would have made a huge difference. I will give it big points for being easy to make -- the longest prep time for me was pitting the kalamata olives -- and it is also good as a make ahead meal. I will probably make this again down the road, but it isn't a must have recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was a hit at our dinner party last night, people kept asking for the recipe. I subbed dates for figs, used fresh herbs and a bit more olive to get the sweet/salty balance right. Used the processor to make it easy and et it sit over night - the flavors really came together. I do think it's best over goat cheese and spread on French bread - but it's still yummy with cream cheese too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I've made this tampenade multiple times now and every time I make it it's a hit. My grandmother, whom I would consider a traditional, non-adventurous eater, loves this recipe. It has become a regular appetizer recipe for my family around the holidays. I mostly follow the recipe as written, with the exception of eyeballing the amount of figs used. It's easy and you're able to make it ahead of time. Definitely recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I love this recipe! It's always a crowd favorite and I am always asked for the recipe. My husband who doesn't like olives or figs loves this - don't be scared of the ingredients. I don't use the walnuts because I never know who has nut allergies. I have also used black olives instead of kalamata and it works. And I normally add more garlic. A favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
If you live olives, you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is soooooooo insanely good I cant even tell you, you must just try...!! No changes needed for this unique and delicious dish. Thank you for posting...!! This is the third time in 3 month I've made this by the way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Loved it! It made more tapenade than I expected from the picture above, so I sliced the cream cheese horizontally and placed on two separate plates. I kept one in the fridge until the other was finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I've made this several times and each time, there is NONE left and people comment over how they just love it and can't stop! lol I love it, too. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is an absolute favorite at parties and get-togethers. It tends to be eaten quickly, so make a double batch if you can! I make it exactly as the recipe instructs... no need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States