Fig and Olive Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I made this as a gift for a friend and she absolutely loved it! It looked and smelled delicious but as I don't care for olives I didn't try it. It was a huge hit with her family as well (she reluctantly shared)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delicious! Based on other reviews, I added the rosemary and thyme to the figs as it reduced so it wouldn't be "twiggy". I used fresh figs because that is all I had. Served over goat cheese. Everyone was so impressed. I will definitely be serving this again - especially during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My sister made this for a party last night. So delicious. She served it over goat cheese and it was amazing. I will be making this for every holiday party for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Can I give 6 stars? Unbelievably amazingly good! I took another reviewer's advice and processed everything together, including the walnuts - no cream cheese. Spicy, salty, sweet, savory - we could have eaten the whole thing for dinner with some toasted french bread. You have to try this recipe! If you don't like the balsamic, try red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Guests will never let you forget this recipe. I was skeptical, but this was a hit. I sliced the cream cheese lengthwise and layed the rectangles side by side and the tapenade covered it well. I added a dash of hot sauce too. An 8x8 appetizer perfect for a tapas party. Note: Next time I would use ground rosemary- the other reviewers are right, the sprigs mess with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choltz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is an unusual but fabulous appetizer! And the fact that you can make it ahead makes it perfect for a party. I mixed cream cheese and goat cheese together for a smooth but tangy spread. Make your own crostini and you have a winning appetizer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was GREAT! I used black olives, pomegranate balsamic, dried herbs, chile sauce instead of cayenne, and vegan cream cheese. The cream cheese was in a tub, so I decided to mix it with the olive mixture, but I DO NOT recommend doing that, as it looks like vomit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This is fantastic. I wish I could give it 10 starts. I made it for last night party. It was gone in no time. And I did not make a little. I made a big bowl of it. Everybody, simply everybody LOVE it. I was nervous about making it. Because some reviews commented on about the rosemary. Here is what I did: 1> I took another reviewer's suggestion, replaced rosemary with oregano 2> I made it two days ahead time 3> Just because I worried about the missing of rosemary, I crushed a little bit rosemary and boiled it with the fig. It is so, so good. Definitely will make again. Thanks Anne for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made this as an appetizer for Easter dinner. The combination of the figs and olives intrigued me to try it out. It was easy enough to prepare and I did as suggested and let the flavors marry overnight. It was not a hit with my guests, however. As one stated, "there's just too much going on". With the garlic, cayenne, olives and figs, the combination of flavors is just too much. It could probably be good with some revision/deletions but as it stands, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was weirdly a REALLY good flavor.It is def. a mature flavor and if you like the taste of balsamic vinegar you'll LOVE this. I used dried rosemary which I thought would be too hard & crunchy but letting it marinade w/ other stuff made it fine. Cream cheese should be room temp and mushy. Cracker should be more on the plain side. I couldn't wait to have it as a snack the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States