Fig and Olive Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was fantastic. I've made it many times and everyone really likes it. I put the olives and figs in the food processor to rough chop them and use fresh herbs. Not as much as the recipe calls for however. Also I only use 1 clove of garlic. I serve over goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is a delicious, unique and elegant gourmet appetizer. I've made it several times, and each time it's a huge hit and I'm always asked for the recipe. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was surprisingly wonderful ! My husband who does not eat olives raves about this. I did use the mini food processor to mince up the cooked figs after cooking them and then added the olives....made a wonderful spread. Thank you for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Good but overwhelming and some of the flavors are not complimentary. Lose the garlic, cayenne and thyme. Half the amount of figs and add two teaspoons of capers. Serve over a mild goat cheese. This makes it more balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is delicious! Love the slight sweet of the fig, along with the tiny crunch of the fig seeds, coupled with the olive tapenade. To make it super easy, I bought a wonderful olive tapenade from Costco and chopped some delicious organic sun-dried figs to mix with the tapenade, to taste. The figs were soft enough that I mixed them straight into the tapenade, no need to soak in water. Besides, that would have done away with the crunch of the fig seeds. My guests went wild over this! This is a new favorite appetizer at our house. Not to take away from the original recipe, which is delicious - just a really easy shortcut that takes no time at all. Hint: to make chopping sticky figs easier, rub Crisco on your knife and they won't stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alligator, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
What an intriguing dish! My husband was the only person who commented about too much "tang" - I would consider cutting the balsamic to 1 1/2 Tbspn actually. Also, keep the fig pieces small and simmer them with the (fresh!) rosemary and thyme. For serving, next time I will smear the cream cheese on a dish, hummus style, and then put the tapenade on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Man, that's good. I used ground thyme and fresh rosemary, 'cause that's what I had. Otherwise, followed the recipe to a t. I tried it with cream cheese, goat cheese is next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe, and I don't even like olives!!! Used fresh figs instead of dried, but completed the remainder of recipe exactly as written. Threw it all into cuisinart and gave course chop. Let sit in fridge overnight and served along side goat cheese and crostinis. Everyone at our party LOVED it. Great combo of sweet, savory. Gave out recipe to 2 people already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was one of three hor douerves that I made to share with a group of friends who enjoy making and eating excellent foods paired with good wine. Of the three hor douerves, this one was the group's favorite hands-down. Almost everyone commented on what a incredibly delicious and interesting combination of flavors in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Everyone raved about this recipe! I used cream cheese but will try goat cheese next time for a new taste. I recommend adding the herbs to the liquid while hydrating the figs, especially if you don't have time to let it rest overnight. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States