Fig and Olive Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Amazing! Definitely the most-raved-about dish at my tapas party! Everyone was really impressed and commented how amazing it was - like restaurant-quality! I made it the night before and I think it really helped the flavor. Also, I didn't use rosemary (didn't have any) and didn't add any additional salt (olives were plenty salty!). I served over a block of reduced-fat cream cheese and omitted the walnuts. So great! I do agree that goat cheese would be really delicious with it (probably even better), but I think that the cream cheese does the trick. And let's face it - goat cheese is much more expensive than cream cheese so I'd only recommend that if you really wanted to splurge. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Absolutely wonderful. I can be a bit picky with different flavours or exotic sounding items so I was a bit wary to try this. Was I ever glad I did! Just the right amount of sweetness and very elegant looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Soooooo delicious. The flavors intensify if made a day ahead of time. Also, freezes extremely well. Great to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This smelled wonderful and tasted pretty good. The cream cheese didn't work for me. This tapenade needs to be paired with something tangy to set it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Man, I SO wanted to love this. I love all of the ingredients separately but this just didn't work for my palate. I tried it freshly made, at 3 days old and 5 days old...Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was excellent!! I served this to guests last night and everyone loved it. We ate this with goat cheese on fresh foccacia bread. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Delicious! I made this for a cocktail party last night, and it was my favorite recipe of the evening. It would be even nicer paired with something a little more elegant than cream cheese, but the tapenade itself is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! I spread this on thin baguette slices, toasted with garlic olive oil & butter infused with roasted garlic. I didn't have balsamic vinegar, so I substituted Red Wine. It probably had more of a kick, but wasn't too noticeable. I served this at a birthday party, and a woman who hates olives even enjoyed this lovely appetizer! I would definitely make this again -- have to make sure I buy some Balsamic vinegar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was a big hit at our neighborhood gathering. I took one reviewer's advice and used just one clove of garlic. I used fresh herbs from my garden. (remember to remove the stem from rosemary and thyme by rubbing them backward then chopping.) The sweet/savory flavors plus the added texture of the toasted nuts was very pleasing with both red and white wine. This is another keeper! I will serve with goat cheese the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States