Fig and Olive Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I, too, wanted to really like this recipe. It honestly was the worst thing I have ever tasted, and I followed the recipe to a "T". This recipe was a very expensive way to learn that something isn't to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was really good! I used ground rosemary and cooked the thyme and rosemary with the figs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
For the time and effort that went into this, I wanted it to knock my socks off. It was okay, just not sensational. It made a nice looking presentation. We served it around labneh with triscuits. I liked it, but it didn't hold a candle to our usual roasted olives, grapes, and goat cheese appetizer, which comes together in minutes. Also, as a side note, when selecting your figs, I'd opt for the green variety to make a more visually appealing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
wonderful flavour and really different from the run of the mill appetizer. My guests loved it! I only wish there was a way to make it prettier. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
awesome!!!! I high reccomend this with goat cheese , its even better. Did I say Awesome and it goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was a very last minute dish that I decided to bring for last night's NYE party. I doubled the recipe and used goat cheese, fresh rosemary, fresh thyme and the mix of black and green olives. I only had 2 hours to make it and let it sit in the fridge but really, that didn't stop it from it being the #1 hit at the party!! We actually had to sneak the tiny leftover back home to eat it later today. I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I wanted to like this recipe, I really really did as I love all the ingredients, but this one just didn't do it for me. After I made it I let it sit overnight and I served it on toasted baguette with goat cheese. It was certainly edible and some of my guests enjoyed it, but I just didn't like the taste the figs gave the tapenade. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is an outstanding recipe. I hate, hate, hate olives, but I love the flavors of this recipe. I followed the recipe closely, but based on comments by others I did use fresh herbs and served it over goat cheese. It was a nice addition to my usual array of holiday party appetizers and one that will become a tradition each year. Additionally I'll serve it at other times for something unusual. Kudos to Anne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
For a shortcut, I am using Fig Preserves in place of fresh figs (it's winter). YUMMMMMMY. Something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Perfect! This tapenade has a beautiful balance of sweet, salt, & umami (savory). The cayenne adds a nice little kick, too. I used fresh herbs from my garden, and did not add additional salt because the kalamata olives and the chevre were plenty salty. Here are some recommendations: 1) remove tough stems from dried figs before chopping, 2) squeeze liquid from chopped olives before adding (like you would spinach).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States