Fig and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I used chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs, and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This chicken is just great!! I doubled the glaze mixture and came out perfect, I had to cover it with aluminium foil at the end of the cooking as it was getting too brown. I am Spanish and I cooked it for Spanish people who are quite reticent to "non-Mediterranean" food, they absolutely loved it. We served it with baked apples as a side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was delicious! I was looking for a new chicken recipe that I could eat during Passover (alas, no bread... or bread crumbs), and I found one! I did double the sauce before cooking, which was nice because it covered the chicken almost entirely in my smaller container, leaving just the top skin to brown a little. I also cut the rind off of the lemon and only used 5 chicken thighs. In my haste, I forgot to top it with salt and parsley before cooking, but it didn't need it! A scrumptious sauce with nice and tender chicken (50 minutes is just perfect). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I LOVE this recipe. I'm not so sure that my husband and son like the actual figs (though I do!), but the sauce and the tart lemon and beautiful glaze are winners. I made a few changes from the quantities given. First, I used a whole free range chicken, cut into 8 pieces. The package of dried figs that I had was only 6 ounces, quite a difference from the 1 1/2 lbs listed in the recipe, but I sliced them into thirds and I had plenty of pieces to lay on the bottom of my pan. I think any more would have been too much. I used a large lemon, peeled, and cut into thin slices. For the liquid, I used another very large lemon's worth of juice, and then, because apparently I can't retain an ingredient list from the time I walk from my computer to the time I get to the kitchen, I misremembered the amount and types of sugar and put in not only a quarter cup of brown sugar, but a quarter cup of white sugar as well. Yeah, very sweet. However, since my lemon was huge I just added another 1/8 cup water to compensate. It was very good. I used cider vinegar instead of white. My chicken took about an hour to get to the color I wanted, and I did spoon juices over it, as well as spin the pieces up and over with tongs to re-cover with sauce, several times during the cooking. I served it with brown rice and collard greens. Thanks for the recipe. It's a nice change, easy and healthy (except maybe for the extra sugar I put in!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
absolutely delicious. I also substituted a turkey breast for chicken and cook it covered for the first 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
This was delicious. A great combination of flovours. I had to bake it longer then recommended in order to get a nice golden skin, but that might just be my oven. This is a wonderful change from an ordinary chicken dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
My husband and I thought it was great, and so easy to make. My kids were less than thrilled, but then they have never eaten figs. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
Ab-so-lutely wonderful! I will be using this recipe again very soon. Perfect for family or company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Wonderful flavor, crispy delicious skin, delightful sauce... I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Excellent recipe. The aroma that fills the house when this is cooking is wonderful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States