Fig and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
The chicken turned out nice and juicy. But, it didn't turn out to be as sweet as I thought and was hoping it would be. I may be too used to glazes and thicker sauces. I definitely could taste the lemon well. It was an easy, good dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Absolutely loved this recipe! I will be making it again for sure, and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I'm not a big chicken fan so I found myself surprised by how much I liked this dish. The chicken was very tender - I cooked both breasts and thighs because that was what I had on hand. I just took the breasts out earlier than the thighs, and it worked out fine. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Having never eaten a fig before (and not knowing their flavor) I used only about 10 dried-then-halved figs. Also, I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts because that's what I had on hand. Fabulous flavor! After the chicken was cooked I removed the juice from the baking dish and poured it into a saucepan, added 1T brown sugar and reduced the sauce to thicken it. When I make this again, I'll double the amount of sauce because it was THAT good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This simple recipe packs a lot of flavor punch! I thought I had a package of dried figs in my pantry but when it came time to cook, couldn't find them ... so I used dried apricot halves and it was delicious. Double the sauce recipe as it's terrific served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
My husband told me that this recipe was the best chicken I have ever made. If that's not a glowing review, I don't know what is. The chicken thighs stay so moist. I took other reviewers suggestions to heart and lessened the amount of figs. The fig flavor was really not pronounced at all. Next time, I plan to make the recipe as written to see if I like a more intense fig flavor. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Excellent rendition of a traditional Hungarian recipe...! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Donald H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Treasure Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
substituted split chicken breasts as we are not fond of chicken thighs. yummy,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was really good for dinner but, it did not hold up that well for lunch the next day. Rating only on dinner, I would give 5 stars. But, for lunch the following day it was difficult to eat. I would make it again without planning to take leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
The delicate sweet/sour-fig/lemon flavor would have been great but the recipe called for too many figs and the sauce and thus, the chicken, ended up being too sweet for my taste. The sauce was also pretty runny. Has potential but not sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States