Fig and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by rinabeana
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
For reasons unknown even to myself, I had a bag of dried figs in my pantry. This recipe sounded tasty, so I tried it out. I substituted honey for the brown sugar, used apple cider vinegar, and boneless skinless chicken breasts rather than thighs. I'm very happy with how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe is pretty decent fresh when you first make it, however, leftovers leave a lot to be desired. The chicken has excellent flavor, but the figs and lemon are overpowering for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I just made this for my husband, the lemon lover and he flipped. I do agree that 1.5 lbs of figs is a bit much and for us there wasn't enough sauce. So next go around, I'll eliminate the vinegar and replace with more lemon, double the sauce and reduce number of figs. This still gets a 5 star in my book. My tweaks are just for my family. The recipe is AWESOME as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe! I had a problem finding dried figs in a store, so I got a jar of La Cholita figs in syrup. I took the figs out and arranged them on the bottom of the baking dish together with lemon and lime slices. Now I did not waste syrup, so I decided to use it instead of brown sugar + water mix. In the same jar I added vinegar and lemon juice & poured over the chicken (boneless, skinless thigh cutlets). It came out really good! I had to adjust temperature (400 F was a bit too high, 375-350 F is better) and rotate thighs in baking dish 2-3 times during cooking time. Figs retained their shape and juiciness, and chicken formed a really nice dark red glaze on all sides. Lemon and lime slices can be taken out after chicken is done, if you are not a fan of lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Not bad, but a bit vinegary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
The flavors seemed to be fighting in this dish. The sweetness of the figs just didn't jive with the sour/bitter of the lemons and peels. I followed the recipe closely using boneless, skinless chicken thighs, but doubling the sauce as indicated. Being somewhat new to cooking with figs, wasn't sure about Mission vs. Calymira, so used half of each and reduced to about a pound. The chicken was moist and flavorful, the figs were tender, but had that strange taste combination and the 'glaze' was just a runny liquid that I poured over the rice I made to accompany. -May- try again with just lemon juice instead of sliced lemons and see if that gets rid of the strange bitter flavor. Will also try reducing the leftover liquid in a saucepan on the stove to see if I can get the rave results I see posted by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DalayceN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Yum! This was super easy to make and it came out beautifully! I used some leftover figs that I had on hand which was less than what it called for so I cut them in half and there was plenty for our taste. I used chicken thighs with bone-in and skin on and it was really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This was great! My family loved it. I could not find dried figs, so I substituted a package of dried dates and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Sorry but I followed this recipe to the letter and was extremely disappointed. So was the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
The chicken turned out nice and juicy. But, it didn't turn out to be as sweet as I thought and was hoping it would be. I may be too used to glazes and thicker sauces. I definitely could taste the lemon well. It was an easy, good dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States