Fig and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was delicious, love the sweet and sour contrast. I used skinless/boneless chicken thighs but plan to try this with pork as well. I also thickened the sauce with cornstarch - just a pinch. I agree that this recipe calls for a lot of figs - I used about 12 dried figs and sliced them lengthwise. Served with wild rice and asparagus. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Chorney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Excellent! I didn't have lemon so I used a fresh lime, and added a splash of apple cider vinegar and some hot sauce. I also omitted the parsley. Everything worked beautifully together. I think lemon would be better but it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was very easy to make and good. Depending on size of thighs, you need to double the glaze. I did remove skin prior to cooking to minimize fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was great! I had a bag of dried figs I didn't know what to do with and this was a tasty way to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
We thought this was great. I did make a few changes...I used balsamic vinegar instead of white, fresh figs and thyme instead of parsley. I also used a whole chicken cut into pieces. Tonight, I'll probably add some cippollinas, because I have a bunch. I think sage would work well,too. The house smelled wonderful while it was cooking. We garnished with crumbled a local goat cheese. I served this with a Pinot noir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I did a couple of alterations to this splendid recipe. i added 1 spoon of flour to the sauce (otherwise it would have been too watery) and i added cinnamon and thym! And the master touch, i added a bit of a Fig jam in the sauce I loved it and i would be doing it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
this was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I thought the chicken was a bit bland but enjoyed the figs. Not sure if I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was tart and sweet, very good. However, I made this with fresh figs and one large chicken breast. There was barely enough sauce for this portion, so I strongly advise doubling or tripling the sauce if you want to put it on rice or couscous as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was pretty good! Subs: we used fresh figs from our backyard tree, apple cider vinegar, and chicken breasts. Omitted the parsley, only because I forgot it! The lemons and figs balanced nicely and the chicken was flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States