Fig and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I believe the pith from the sliced lemons caused the sauce to become bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I would rate it a 5, except I modified the recipe. I love figs, but the quanity of figs to chicken was too much, so I used 1/2 amount prescribed. I doubled the sauce as others suggested and forgot the sugar and with all the figs releasing their sweetness into the sauce and so that's how I make this now. I used apple cider vinegar instead of white, and I think citrus vinegar (like from Trader Joe's) or balsamic would work just as well. Added seasoning -- I added fennel powder and seeds. The fennel melded perfectly, for my tastebuds, with the lemon and fig. Calories -- for those interested - Without the sugar and the way I made it -- and I may be wrong, but I calculate the calories to be about 238 per thigh including a portion of the figs. The lemon and all the fiber of the figs -- make this a really healthy dish with healthy natural sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michround
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
So delicious. I also doubled the glaze. I used balsamic vinegar instead of white and I added goat cheese at the end as I plated. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michround

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Really good. I used fresh figs because that is what I had. Could use more salt. Once the chicken was cooked through, I poured the sauce into a saucepan and boiled it down to make thicker. I did not peel the lemons as some people suggested, and it was great. I served the chicken and sauce over rice. Will definitely make again since I have a tree covered in figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Very creative recipe and quite easy. My family really liked it. Figs are very nutritious and high in fiber so I was eager to try it. I halved the recipe. Next time I may make a little more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Mine was WAY too lemon-y. I either used massive lemons which resulted in too much juice, or used extremely potent lemons! Next time I would use less lemon and add lots of honey to the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Halved the recipe and omitted the actual lemon, having used bottled lemon juice. Great paired with some spinach and mushroom quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
this worked perfectly! The only change I made was to add a little moe sugar (1/3 cup) and I used balsamic vinegar, as that's what I had in the kitchen! superb taste, everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida vB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was delicious, love the sweet and sour contrast. I used skinless/boneless chicken thighs but plan to try this with pork as well. I also thickened the sauce with cornstarch - just a pinch. I agree that this recipe calls for a lot of figs - I used about 12 dried figs and sliced them lengthwise. Served with wild rice and asparagus. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellanscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Excellent! I didn't have lemon so I used a fresh lime, and added a splash of apple cider vinegar and some hot sauce. I also omitted the parsley. Everything worked beautifully together. I think lemon would be better but it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States