Fig and Banana Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Yes it was superb, nice and moist, turned out a treat, I have 23 fig trees and need every fig recipe I can get my hands on, I also sliced some figs and laid them on the top before putting the tins in the oven, lovely , will certainly use this recipe again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Frying Scotsman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunfermline, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Used fresh, in-season figs instead of dried, added pecans, put in a dash of almond oil and made in muffin cups for easy breakfast on the road. Cooked for 40 rather than 55 because they were muffins instead of a loaf. Makes 24 delicious and moist muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This is a yummy, healthy recipe! I made it into muffins. Great with strawberry cream cheese or peanut butter. I did make a few changes: I upped the cinnamon to 1.5 tsp., subbed applesauce for the eggs, & used fresh figs. I also added chopped walnuts. I will be adding this to my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
The texture is lovely, but the taste is a little bland, even after I added some ginger. It makes 18 normal size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made really yummy breakfast muffins with this recipe using suggestions from the other posts. They were moist and flavorful. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
So yummy!! I used 1% milk. A hit with everyone....even those who "don't like figs!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Wow. This is a healthy recipe for a normally fat laden breakfast treat. I could not believe how moist this bread is with only the 2 tablespoons of oil. I didn't have whole wheat flour around, but I just used 3 cups of white, unbleached instead and just regular milk in place of the soy. Love. Love. Love. Yummy...I didn't feel a bit of guilt eating this and I can serve it in good conscience to my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My only changes were to use regular milk instead of soy, and I chopped and soaked my figs in the microwave for a minute in a little water to soften them up. It made a dense, moist loaf, pefectly, lightly sweet. I used the olive oil and didn't notice a flavor change, but appreciated the healthier oil ingredient. Recipe is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I needed to use up some figs and gave this recipe a try and I'm glad I did. It's really good! I used AP flour since that's all I had and a bit more cinnamon, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Definitely will make this again! **update** So I made muffins with this recipe and I baked for 25-30 mins. @ 350 degrees F. Turned out very nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
While I can't giving it a super-glowing review, I was still impressed with the flavor and moistness of this recipe. I used whole milk and AP flour because it's all I had on hand. I also added toasted, chopped walnuts, which was a pleasant addition. I think next time I will up the bananas (I may have been slightly short??) and cinnamon... then I'll have a winner. They had perfectly puffed tops (I made muffins...). I'm willing to give this another go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States