Fiesta Turkey Tavern Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Great twist on a sloppy joe recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was really good! I used only 1lb. of turkey meat and just cut back a little on all the ingredients. I added a little salt in the end, served them on hamburger buns with American cheese. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is an incredibly good “tavern,” especially when you take into account it’s made with turkey and not beef. It has a nice seasoning and gets bonus points because it does not use ketchup. The tavern (a.k.a. loose meat sandwich) originated in the 1920s. It’s nothing more than browned ground beef that contains very little or even no seasoning what-so-ever. It caught on quickly with businesses because it was cheap, easy, and “one-sandwich-fits-all.” It was served on a bun and via a condiments bar, the customer could create their own sandwich by adding whatever toppings or sauces they desired. It could be turned into a traditional topped hamburger/cheeseburger, sloppy joe, etc. The only thing that’s changed with the modern day tavern is the number of ways it’s served. I’ve seen many organizations use these for fundraisers, giving the customer the choice of having it served on a bun, tortilla, hard shell taco, or even fry bread. The combinations are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NomNomDelicious
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I'm the recipe's creator. To cut down on the amount of fat, make sure that you're using ground turkey breast or lean ground turkey meat. Regular ground turkey is about as fattening as regular ground beef! Thanks and hope that you enjoy! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
this was awesome! the whole family loved it, even my 3 year old! I did replace the jalapeno for red bell pepper since, the kids couldnt handle that much heat. LOVED how easy it was! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made this recipe as written, using powdered chipotle seasoning in place of chili powder. My picky 10 yr old ate it in a tortilla, and my husband liked it on a bun with barbecue sauce. Overall a hit, and I will be adding this to our rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this last night for the first time, it was very good. I've tried various tavern recipes trying to find one we all like, my daughter will not eat anything with "barbeque" flavor. This one was it. I did make one minor change, my husband does not like jalapenos so I substituted 1/4 cup of salsa and added it with the water. It took a little longer for the liquid to evaporate but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I played around with this a bit since my kids don't care for jalapeno. I used 2 lbs turkey, same on the onion and garlic, , then filled the bottom of the pan with white cooking wine and added larger amounts of mustard, salt and pepper and then cooked it down until the liquid was mostly gone. I put it on a whole wheat hamburger bun with swiss cheese and it was great - my kids drowned it in ketchup but they still ate it! We actually fed 4 of us for 2 nights and had some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this exactly as written and just thought it was OK. To me it just tasted like spicy ground turkey, couldn't find any flavor besides that. I like the versatility and ease of the dish though. Thank you for sharing, I'm glad I tried it. It's something different which is always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I sampled the mixture just before adding the remaining mustard and jalapenos. Didn't seem at all "hot". Next time I will use 1/4 teaspoon cayenne and 1/4 teaspoon chili powder. However, found the amount of jalapenos too hot--too overpowering, so will cut down to 1/8 cup. Tried the mixture as a burger, in pitas and tortillas. Thought the tortillas were by far the tastiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katycooks1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States