Fiesta Tater Tot® Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Very tasty but incredibly salty as directed. I'd need to find lower sodium ingredients before making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
My family loved this! Simple and satisfying. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This was a nice change from our regular hamburger dishes and we really liked it. For ease, I browned the beef, adding the diced yellow onion during the last bit, to soften. Added at that point a can of pinto beans and the taco seasoning packet. Poured that mixture into a 9x9 pan (perfect size, as it turned out); topped with shredded cheese; poured the mixture of soups and milk over the top, sprinkling with a bit more homemade taco seasoning; and refrigerated until 30 minutes before dinner time. At that point, preheated the oven while covering the top of the casserole with tater tots, which required less than the amount called for here, and also no bottom layer of tots. Cooked about 25 to 30 minutes, as it started out cold from the fridge. Easy and quick. Hubby like as is and I did too, but found it even tastier with sprinkles of Tobasco sauce. We found the layer of tots as a topping to be more than adequate and don't think either of us would have liked it half as much with an additional layer on the bottom. Yum. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tia24tx
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My kids and husband loved it. The only thing I did differently was used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce because it's what I had on hand. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tia24tx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Family loved this! I used two packs of low sodium taco seasoning rather than one to add flavor. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Chapman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made this recipe pretty much like directed. I added some white onions also into the hamburger as it was cooking. I added a can of corn, drained, into the soup mixture. I didn't brown the tator tots first, I just put soup mixture on top of frozen tots. I crushed some fritos on top of the melted cheese. Yum!!! Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Ok: I totally "get" this...a twist between Mexican nachos and typical tater tot hot dish. Made as directed and pretty good. My mind couldn't quite process the upside down (or reversed) baking of this casserole but it was good. I totally plan to try again with the following changes. 1) place beef on bottom per normal. 2) in place of your typical green beans (as the 2nd "layer" I will try...maybe a can of chili beans or black beans...we'll see what's in my pantry. 3) pour half the sauce over the meat/beans, layer tots and pour remaining sauce over all. Bake for the normal hour or so as I am used to but will still achieve the Mexican twist goal. Fun and worth a try. Thank you for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Awesome. I didnt season the meat seperatly (didnt see the point). I just poured the whole package of taco seasoning into the soup mix (plus a little more) Only used about 3/4 of the bag of tater tots. Will definatly repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This turned out great! I think it'll be a new favorite. Incredibly filling and delicious! My grocery store doesn't carry the condensed nacho cheese soup, so I used two individual cups of a 4-pk of Chi-chi's nacho cheese dip and a can of Contadina tomato sauce. I omitted the milk because we only had almond milk on-hand and that didn't sound too appealing for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Love this recipe! So good. I use a white onion instead of the green onion as my grocery store always seems out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States